Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2013, 03:04 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
me2hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
AC and Generator problem

Hi all
I was wondering if anyone had issues with the AC popping the circuit breaker on your generator?

A little background, I dont have the onboard generator, I have a generac 4000 with the 30 amp plug and when I turn my AC on it takes about 5 minutes and my breaker pops on the generator. When I'm plugged in to 30 amp at the RV park or at my house the AC runs great, no issues at all.

Wondering if any one has any ideas that might help me out..Thanks
__________________

me2hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:15 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by me2hunter View Post
Hi all
I was wondering if anyone had issues with the AC popping the circuit breaker on your generator?

A little background, I dont have the onboard generator, I have a generac 4000 with the 30 amp plug and when I turn my AC on it takes about 5 minutes and my breaker pops on the generator. When I'm plugged in to 30 amp at the RV park or at my house the AC runs great, no issues at all.

Wondering if any one has any ideas that might help me out..Thanks
Is your gennie receptacle a 4 prong 120v/240?

4000 running watts? Or surge watts?
__________________

TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:17 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Also.
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...20v-41032.html
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:28 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
My guess is that something else is turning on at the end of 5 minutes, like your electric water heater, or your refrigerator.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:38 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
me2hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Is your gennie receptacle a 4 prong 120v/240?

4000 running watts? Or surge watts?
no It's the 3 prong 30 amp plug and it's the running watts not surge watts.
me2hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:49 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by me2hunter View Post

no It's the 3 prong 30 amp plug and it's the running watts not surge watts.
Fridge on electric?
Wh on electric?
Converter on ?


4000 watt gennie is just barely 30 amps and if all three of those are on and running you've maxed out your gennie .

Turn wh and fridge to gas then try it.

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:59 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
me2hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Fridge on electric?
Wh on electric?
Converter on ?


4000 watt gennie is just barely 30 amps and if all three of those are on and running you've maxed out your gennie .

Turn wh and fridge to gas then try it.

Turbs
I hear what your saying My WH is electric no way to turn it to gas (I think lol)
and the Fridge was on gas and I actually borrowed my fathers 6000 watt generator and it popped his breaker also...I'm just wondering if I might have a warranty issue..I was told to that it's because I'm not running an inverted?? generator. And thats why its popping the breaker. But I had a fifth wheel prior to buying the TH and my generator worked on that AC just fine....Just really confused????
me2hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 04:10 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by me2hunter View Post

I hear what your saying My WH is electric no way to turn it to gas (I think lol)
and the Fridge was on gas and I actually borrowed my fathers 6000 watt generator and it popped his breaker also...I'm just wondering if I might have a warranty issue..I was told to that it's because I'm not running an inverted?? generator. And thats why its popping the breaker. But I had a fifth wheel prior to buying the TH and my generator worked on that AC just fine....Just really confused????
I've got a non inverter gennie and runs my a/c fine .... albeit my gennie is 5500 running watts.

I can also run fridge and wh on electric.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 04:28 PM   #9
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by me2hunter View Post
I hear what your saying My WH is electric no way to turn it to gas (I think lol)
and the Fridge was on gas and I actually borrowed my fathers 6000 watt generator and it popped his breaker also...I'm just wondering if I might have a warranty issue..I was told to that it's because I'm not running an inverted?? generator. And thats why its popping the breaker. But I had a fifth wheel prior to buying the TH and my generator worked on that AC just fine....Just really confused????
Almost all WH work on gas, so I would check to see but I'm thinking that Sumpting else is going on.. It would b nice if you could find a clamp meter to put around the inlet hot wire and see hat is happening. Otherwise there is no way to know.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 04:42 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Have not seen one that wasn't at least gas.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 04:47 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
me2hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Have not seen one that wasn't at least gas.
LOL I mis spoke...it is indeed gas just that its got an electric igniter....
me2hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 04:58 PM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by me2hunter View Post

LOL I mis spoke...it is indeed gas just that its got an electric igniter....
Do you know anyone with an amp clamp and meter?

You need to verify amp draw and or voltage output of gennie.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 05:13 PM   #13
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Have not seen one that wasn't at least gas.
Nor me, except for the ones that run on Diesel in the high end motor homes.

RodeoGeorge
__________________
2013 Rockwood 8289WS
Mods: Central Vac, PI EMS-HW50C, 2025RV, (2) SCS225 Trojans, PD9260, Awning Remotes & LED Lights, Eliminators, External Water Filter,, Intellijacks
2008 RAM 3500 Cab&Chassis Hauler Bed, B&W Companion Hitch
All My Modifications are at this link:
https://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ons-36212.html
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 11:01 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
me2hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Do you know anyone with an amp clamp and meter?

You need to verify amp draw and or voltage output of gennie.

I have one...Where would I check for those at?
me2hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 11:33 AM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by me2hunter View Post

I have one...Where would I check for those at?
If you pull cover off of converter you can test incoming voltage as well as amp draw.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 02:47 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
me2hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
If you pull cover off of converter you can test incoming voltage as well as amp draw.
Thanks, I'll see what I come up with
me2hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 03:23 PM   #17
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
With just a/c you should be pulling no more than about 13 amp on hi blower.

Shut all breakers off except the main and a/c.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 03:58 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
me2hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
thanks for the info
__________________

me2hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.


×