Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-31-2020, 04:22 PM   #1

Battery Recommendations for GeoPro19fd

Our 19fd is on order. We opted out of the dealer installed battery since our salesman really couldn't even recommend it.
So, while we are waiting for delivery, I'd like a recommendation.
We do not plan on having shore power every night, but would rather have a little flexibility.
Sounds like, for us, maybe a couple 6V AGM golf car batteries might be the way to go for now. I will likely get a quiet generator to carry although I wish I didn't have to.
Later, I may get into upgrading with some more solar.
I'm a structural engineer not electrical, so be gentle.
Don B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 11:32 PM   #2

With a generator, a plain old deep cycle battery from Costco or Walmart should be just fine. Be prepared to be bombarded with the need for an AGM or lithium battery. Don't buy into it. If you want enough electricity to run the A/C, microwave, Instantpot, coffee maker, etc, you'll need a generator or shore power. And a regular deep cycle battery is all you'll need. I'm surprised you your trailer isn't coming all outfitted and ready to hit the road. Both of my trailers were out the door with battery and propane. My 192RBS even included a weight distribution hitch. The two dealers I dealt with each quoted me one low out-the-door price with no hidden fees, and they both delivered. Hopefully you're not buying from Camping World!
AlaskaErik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2020, 12:33 AM   #3

Battery Recommendations for GeoPro19fd

Shame that you didn’t ask this a week ago- Home Depot had an excellent sale on champion 2000 generator for $399. Will run everything except ac.

If we find ourselves needing ac more than a few hours, we book a campground with hook ups.