Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-13-2019, 10:44 PM   #1

360 IBL electric over hydraulic disc brake upgrade

---NOTE--- I actually did this mod in 2016. Absolutely 0 issues, and I've driven 12,000 miles including a trip all over Colorado and Utah. Here is the review I never posted:

After a huge amount of research and planning, I converted my Coachman 360 IBL to electric over hydraulic brakes. I must say, this install was quite a bit easier than I thought. My skill level is fairly high, considering I’m a farmer, engineer, plus I work on equipment often. I also have a shop with all the tools that I needed (which weren’t many). In total this job took me about 10 hours. I could do it again in about 6.

I wasn’t satisfied with the included electric drum trailer brakes with the 360IBL. They worked well, don’t get me wrong, but I had a few instances where I needed more brakes than I had. My camper weighs more than my TV, which is a 2012 F350. I had to set the trailer brake gain to 8.5. I was never able to lock them up at any gain setting. (Upon conversion I found there was a poor brake line connection in the box near the 5th wheel)

This led to my decision to upgrade the brakes. Etrailer has been my go-to trailer parts supplier. If you’re good at searching the internet, you can use their price guarantee and save lots.
  • I have 2x Dexter 7000 lbs axles.
  • Lug nuts are 9/16

I ordered the following from etrailer:
  • 2x Kodiak Disc Brake Kit – 13” Hub / Rotor – 8 on 6 ½ - Raw finish. 7000lbs – Item #K2HR79 ------ Different outer bearings are required here: 4x Replacement Trailer Hub Bearing – 02475
  • 3x (1 extra) Grease Seals 10-36 (pair)
  • 4x Replacement Trailer Hub Bearing – 25580 (inner bearings)
  • HydraStar Hydraulic Brake Line Kit - Tandem Axle - 30' Long, 1/4" Main Line
  • Dexter Electric Over Hydraulic Brake Actuator - 1,600 psi
    Purchased elsewhere: