Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-09-2012, 07:41 AM   #1

Coachmen Chaparall 2012 34BHS

Hello,
Anyone have one of these models? We got ours about a month ago and have had two trips. Driving less than 90 minutes to our destinations. I have started to notice some serious concerns with this model.

The dealership tells me that it has a one year warranty but I am new to a new trailer/5th wheel. We have always bought used in the past and this was our first new model.

Outdoor kitchen - door is obviously out of square and was that way from the factory. We noticed this on pickup...big deal but not the end of the world since the dealership said they would repair.

Since then, we have noted many issues and this morning the biggest yet.

While I am working on my homework enjoying a nice morning I turned on a reading light. It was dim....Thought that was odd....Then the fridge showed check...microwave and indoor electric fireplace no longer work. I believe all of this was fine before. No fuses appear to be tripped. The fuses are functioning. The dealership told me I should have a red indicator light when one goes bad on the main power panel. I use a voltmeter to check volts/amps and these were both in the green as they say. Weird? I would think it wouldn't be the main 50 amp cord since this is brand new from coachman. I also plug it in first with the fuse on the park panel off to avoid a spark. This just seems odd to me...Anyone else have issues like this?

Also noted many of the doors have settled on the outside....Both entry doors are now rubbing and the caulk lines are showing they have come loose in some areas where the door frame meets the body of the which tells me the fasteners for the door frames are substandard. For this unit to move a total of about 300 miles since we have bought it and for the exterior doors to behave this way seem odd.