Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-04-2016, 09:58 AM   #1

Air in system when water heater used?

Hey all, new here, new to campers! so lets get started!

Water system pressurizes great when i have the hot water heater isolated but as soon as open the valves to the water heater i get an endless supply of air in my lines, cold and hot. It will stay like that forever and the pump has to run constantly. I do not appear to be leaking water anywhere.

Im new to campers so i am following the steps the salesperson told me when I bought it. If im doing it wrong, let me know!
  1. Install drain plug anode rod.
  2. pressurize water system
  3. open valves to hot water tank
  4. open faucets to relieve air pockets

Camper is a 2011 Grey Wolf Patriot 25BH
LifeLessLived17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 11:50 AM   #2

What about the hot water tank pressure relief valve?
Jimandchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 11:51 AM   #3
Who Dares, Wins

Is the tank actually full of water... Slowly, again, SLOWLY, pop the relief valve and see if you get water or air.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 Chevy HD D-Max
2022 Impression 315MB
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 11:57 AM   #4

I have slowly released pressure through the t&p valve and I am sure there is water in the tank. we have actually used the heater and had some hot water, but the air and lack of consistent pressure is enough that i have shut the valves to it the last two trips out and not bothered aside from trying to trouble shoot it. Have a week long trip coming up and the wife wants it fixed.
Old 06-04-2016, 11:59 AM   #5
Who Dares, Wins

Not that it may matter.. But when you said valves to heater, that is the winterizing valves? And it is Only the hot side? Not cold as well,on the pump.

2015 Chevy HD D-Max