Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2015, 01:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 34
Confused....RV Vent Caps to Nowhere

Here we go....

Crawled on roof to replace factory sewer vent caps with 360 siphon.

3 vent caps in sight.

2 of the vent caps had no pipes and were just covering a hole in the rubber and plywood.

Why? Mistake? Moisture prevention? Some other reason?

On the other side of the fence.....I have 1 black tank and 2 grey tanks. Are they inter-connected to the only vent that had a pipe or is that another mistake?

Thanks for your replies....totally puzzled.
__________________
Chevy 3500HD Dually
XLR Thunderbolt 417amp
RZR XP 4 1000
TexasFamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 02:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
heavynlori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,415
Some units have attic vents in the roof

These are separate from your black and grey tank vents but look similar
heavynlori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 02:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 34
Hmmmmh.....oops!?!

Do I need the attic vents?
__________________
Chevy 3500HD Dually
XLR Thunderbolt 417amp
RZR XP 4 1000
TexasFamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 03:08 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northen IL
Posts: 4,951
I had never heard of these before. Based on a little searching, a lot of people haven't. Many confuse them with the plumbing vents.
Iwritecode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 03:15 PM   #5
Boss Ox & Drovergirl
 
oxcamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: N.E. Ohio Snow Belt
Posts: 878
Our rear gray tank has a vent through the side wall.
__________________
Mark, Vicki, & Scout THE dog
2015 Hemisphere 282RK
2011 2500HD Silverado
1992 Goldwing Aspencade
oxcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2015, 08:28 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 692
Mine has two vents that appear to be for the roof structure and are not for plumbing, but I haven't looked closely to tell for sure.
phillyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2015, 08:37 AM   #7
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19,905
Conduit to the basement of inside for wiring? I've been on a kick lately that RV manufacturers would do us all a favor if they'd just install one or two with a chase line to aid in aftermarket mods.
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2015, 11:16 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Telstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 526
You only need the 360 on the black tank.
The extra vent caps provide air circulation in the attic space much like the attic venting in a house.
__________________
Gary and Donna
2005 Cardinal 33TS-LX
Trail Air pin box
Center Point suspension
2018 Ram Laramie 3500 6'4" box 2WD
Demco AutoSlide 18k
Telstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2015, 06:38 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: West Coast
Posts: 103
Texas, I have the same configuration, 1 black and 2 grey tanks. I bought the 360 siphon and thought I needed 3 since that's how many vents are on the roof! I haven't installed them yet, but can you tell if there is a pipe before taking off the sealant?
atcla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2015, 08:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by atcla View Post
Texas, I have the same configuration, 1 black and 2 grey tanks. I bought the 360 siphon and thought I needed 3 since that's how many vents are on the roof! I haven't installed them yet, but can you tell if there is a pipe before taking off the sealant?

Yes, remove one screw in cap, above roof. You'll see pipe or not straight away. Fakes can also hide wires for not purchased add ins. Very common to have two or three vents to combine to one termination.
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2015, 11:19 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: West Coast
Posts: 103
Thanks Vince! I didn't want to waste time and material on vents I don't need to replace!
atcla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2015, 06:11 PM   #12
New to FR. Old to TT
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: SW MI.
Posts: 182
We have 3 vents on our TT and I have replaced them with 360 siphon and all had vent pipes. Most TT have vacuum pressed roofs and as such don't need a attic vent, one way you may not have a pipe at the roof is if your vent pipe has fallen in to the tank. You might look down the hole with a flashlight and see if you see the end of the pipe. Gray tanks will also benifit from the new cover. Good luck.
__________________
2018 GMC 2500 Denali HD ,Duramax with Allison trans.
2019 Cedar Creek 36ck2
Tall frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2015, 08:38 PM   #13
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,784
Op.
I have 5 tanks on my sabre and i have 3 plumbing vents on my roof, 2 attic vents, and a rear tank vent out my rear wall for my outside kitchen.
My roof plumbing vents have a screw that holds the caps on. The attic vent caps just spin on with a bold made into the bottom of the cap. They just have insulation visable after spinning the cap off. (Sorry i dont have pics)
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse, vent

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.