Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-13-2017, 10:06 AM   #1

dewinterizing low point drains?

this is my first year where I had to winterize. I'm sure I got the antifreeze in ok. I will get the cover off in a week and plan to dewinterize the plumbing by flushing fresh water through all the lines until they come out clean. but then I got to thinking and realized there are three plumbing stubs (a line that is not connected to anything and ends in a cap). there is a small stub under the kitchen sink (I was told it is for a possible dishwasher). then there are the low point drains. if I just flush fresh water through the system will that clear the antifreeze out of these stubs? should I take the caps of the stubs so that water will flow and flush them? for the low point drains should I flush the system first and then open the drains and allow the water in the lines to drain out? if I open the low point drains before flushing it will drain the antifreeze that is currently in the lines. would this be hazardous if it drained to the ground? thanks for any insight you can offer.
Old 03-18-2017, 02:03 AM   #2

Assuming the water heater is bypassed, flush the system until water runs clear on all faucets/washers/toilets/outside showers. Remove low point drain caps and let the system drain. Remove cap under sink and drain in a bucket. Replace all caps.

If you want to be cautious, repeat the steps.

That will clear all the lines of antifreeze, as for the environmental impact, read the label on the antifreeze container.
email is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 02:34 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by email View Post
Assuming the water heater is bypassed, flush the system until water runs clear on all faucets/washers/toilets/outside showers. Remove low point drain caps and let the system drain. Remove cap under sink and drain in a bucket. Replace all caps.