Old 05-02-2017, 09:22 AM   #1

Exterior access to Water Heater not sealed

Hi everyone...I'm new to owning a TT and have a question/concern about the exterior access to the water heater.

We just purchased our TT (2017 FR Salem Cruise Lite 261BHXL) in Jan 2017 and it was winterized. It's now ready for me to de-winterize it so I break out the owners manual and trusty ol' YouTube. I think I got through that ok. But then on to sanitizing the water system. Here's where I think I may have caused some damage .

It looks like the exterior access to the water heater was not properly caulked/sealed (only half of it) and water that was being drained out of the water heater appears to have flowed behind the siding. I noticed water dripping from under the edge of the TT in two spots, one on the back corner and the other not far from the WH exterior access. From the inside of the TT, it's hard to tell but the little piece of wood that I can see, does appear to be moist. I've attached some pictures.

So my questions are...
1) Is the exterior access to the water heater supposed to caulked?
2) Do you think I have water damage now?

Thanks for the help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	InkedWater Heater exterior access_LI.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	355.8 KB
ID:	136587   Click image for larger version

Name:	back corner dripping area.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	178.2 KB
ID:	136588   Click image for larger version

Name:	under camper near access door dripping area.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	126.4 KB
ID:	136589   Click image for larger version

Name:	Inkedinterior _LI.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	310.9 KB
ID:	136590  

JessieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2017, 09:30 AM   #2

Welcome to the forum its a great place to get your questions answered. I doubt you have done any damage. Caulk/seal the lip of the water heater compartment and leave the area in the pics open to air movement to dry thing out (maybe a fan to help drying) and then go camping.

2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS