Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-27-2018, 04:39 PM   #1

fresh water drain-where?

Hello. I am new to RV life. Just got 2005 Forest River Lexington 26 foot 255D. I added a few gallons of fresh water to the fresh water holding tank and my indicator gauge rose to confirm this. I do not know how to drain the tank. The manual only states that the location varies and shows no pivtures. I included a picture. I thought the drain was the valve labeled 1, but no water when I open this valve. There are 2 other drains? covered with plastic caps--I labeled them 2 and 3 in the picture. Are these drains? I know where the black and gray water gate valves are so those tanks are no problem. Thanks in advance for any help. Richard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	InkedInked20181027_144724_LI.jpg
Views:	445
Size:	344.6 KB
ID:	190157  
rvgara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 07:27 PM   #2

2 and 3 look like they are probably your hot and cold line low point drains. You use them to empty the lines of water when you winterize.

I would have thought 1 was your fresh tank drain too, but if nothing drained you need to look for another. The fresh water tank is usually fairly close to the fill for it. The drain is often directly under the tank, so it literally ends up under the middle of the trailer.

Good luck, let us know how you turn out.
KeithInUpstateNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 07:37 PM   #3
Kanadian Kamper

I agree with Keith on all three taps.

Things look a little old and rusty in the picture. It’s possible something inside the line is blocking the water from being released or the actual tap is rusted shut, but I still believe number 1 is the fresh water tank drain.

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD, nicely modified and carried by a 2017 Ford E450 Sport