Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-18-2022, 10:45 AM   #1

Hauling black tank contents long term?

Looking to snow bird in Florida for the winters. Trying to avoid cramped over priced rv parks. I have found a ranch owner who can provide an rv site with electric, water, and gray water dump for a work camping type relationship.

Because of the high water table he has concerns about black tank dumping. I have zero experience with pumps or honey wagons. Wondering how hard/expensive/dirty it would be to haul black tank every 7-10 days.

Assuming i could find a truckstop/campground in area allowing me to dump.
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 10:53 AM   #2
Site Team

Do a search on the forums for "waste totes". You should get lots of ideas. There are ones that you can pull behind your vehicle that will hook to a hitch. Lots of different shapes and sizes.

It depends on how far you have to travel with it though.

At least one person I know uses a macerator pump and a large bladder that they put in the bed of their pickup.
Iwritecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 11:33 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimber45 View Post
Looking to snow bird in Florida for the winters. Trying to avoid cramped over priced rv parks. I have found a ranch owner who can provide an rv site with electric, water, and gray water dump for a work camping type relationship.

Because of the high water table he has concerns about black tank dumping. I have zero experience with pumps or honey wagons. Wondering how hard/expensive/dirty it would be to haul black tank every 7-10 days.

Assuming i could find a truckstop/campground in area allowing me to dump.
The situation you're describing is not uncommon among boondockers. I'm adopting a solution described by several others on this forum.