Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-01-2017, 09:07 PM   #1

Hot Water Just stopped working

Ok, so I am not what you would consider a newbie as I have been RVing in one form or another for about 40 years. I often do my own troubleshooting and repair for all things mechanical. I have even changed out a bad hot water heater element and thermostats.

The thing is, I am not 100% positive I have a thermostat issue but I am thinking that is the only thing left to try. I hate to have to remove the existing one as there is this form pad "glued" over the access to it.

For some background:
  • The MH is a 2017 Sportscoach 407FW.
  • The Hot Water Heater is a ATWOOD GC10A-4E 94018 10 GALLON HOT WATER HEATER GAS/ELECTRIC
  • The heater has been working fine ever since we have been on the road beginning June 9th.
  • Suddenly, no hot water starting yesterday.
  • The unit does not work on either electricity or gas.
  • We are on perfectly clean shore power in RV Park, no low voltage (I have a Hughes Autoformer) .
  • Everything else in the coach seems to be working just fine.
  • I have cycled the 110 Circuit Breaker.
  • I have checked the 2-amp fuse on the control board for the heater unit and it is not burned out/shorted.
  • I cannot locate any other "labeled" 12-volt fuse.
  • I have checked the propane and the tank is full, valve is open (wouldn't explain why not working on electricity anyway)
So, how does one actually check/confirm a thermostat issue, I mean to absolutely confirm it besides just replacing it to see of it suddenly starts working again?

Regards,
One stumped RV'er
mmcbride56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 09:35 PM   #2