Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-23-2020, 12:09 AM   #1

How long can you keep water in the tank?

I'm new to trailers and was wondering how long you can keep the fresh water tank full before having to add some sanitation.
Chewman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 12:35 AM   #2

2 weeks if the tank was sanitized prior to filling and the correct hose was used and the water was of good quality.
These are guidelines, others may have different experiences.
myxkp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 11:45 AM   #3
Trailer Park Supervisor

CDC guidelines are for 6 months if water is kept in cool (50-70 deg F) dark place (out of direct sunlight), and things were sanitized before fill up.
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 12:02 PM   #4
Canadian Member

I dump my system if its going to sit for more than 2 weeks. Drain the fresh water tank, the hot water tank and all the water lines. Some will say its overkill but that's what I like to do. I don't want warm stagnant water sitting in my trailer for too long.
2011 Rockwood Signature 8293SS (2015 - 2018)
2010 Rockwood Roo 23SS (2012 - 2014)

itat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 12:11 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by itat View Post
I dump my system if its going to sit for more than 2 weeks. Drain the fresh water tank, the hot water tank and all the water lines. Some will say its overkill but that's what I like to do. I don't want warm stagnant water sitting in my trailer for too long.
Ditto for me also.
Mike
2015 Sierra SLE 5.3 V8 4x4
Mike223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 12:53 PM   #6

In warmer weather you may run a risk of amoebic dysentery if the water sits too long in the tank without additional sanitizer.
Villagerjjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 01:09 PM   #7
Trailer Park Supervisor