Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-03-2018, 09:59 PM   #1

Multimeter Help - Suburban SW10DE Water Heater

The amount of knowledge on this forum is mind boggling. And your posts have helped innumerable times. So i'm going to ask for an assist again. Despite lots of experience and years doing this... I'm still an electrical novice. I did manage recently to trace electric power and identify a blown converter and replace it for a sucessful outcome - but that's the exception.

I HAVE gone through posts on my issue! And it's great information. But, not specific enough to guide me. Darn it!

My 110 side is gone. The propane side works fine.

So - could someone please show me EXACTLY where to place the red and black probes on my multimeter to identify voltage - or not - for the components of my water heater?

e.g. to confirm heating element voltage, put your red probe HERE and your black probe HERE. If you get X voltage it's good, if not its bad. Same with therostat and ON/OFF switch. To test it put this probe HERE and the other THERE. And heres what you should see - or not. And those results mean _______ .

It can't possibly be that tough to replace bad components. I can do that. It's how to identify which component is or is not functioning that's my difficulty.

I've attached a photo of the water heater. In hopes someone has some time on their hands and can put some arrows or something on it to show PUT THIS PROBE HERE AND THAT PROBE THERE to test THIS...

--------------------

The above is what I really really would like to get so I CAN deal with this in future.