Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-15-2012, 05:52 PM   #1

Pressure regulators

I have an external filter that I place between the spigot and the trailer. The past thing in the system is a pressure regulator... cost about 13 bucks.

My dealer says I need one with an adjustable feature and a guage, to the tune of about 85 bucks. He says the cheap ones can get sand in them and no longer regulate the pressure... and I could end up with popped pipes and fixtures... and the sky is falling... and... Another dealer that sells lots of parts, tells me that he stopped taking peoples money for the expensive ones because they can fail in the same way, just as easily. He said they usually just stop passing water... ie. get plugged up.

In a past life I was an aircraft mechanic and a glider pilot. The aviation industry and most pilots I know preach one thing... Redundancy! So, I decided to use the following scenario. I'll use a cheap regulator at the spigot, then the hose, then the filter, then another regulator at the trailer entrance port. That way, BOTH regulators would have to fail for the pressure in the trailer to get dangerously high.

To qualify that diatribe, I'm a relative nooby to RVing. I've been out only 3 times... each for about a week... but I still have a lot to learn. Those of you that are more experienced... please chime in and tell me if this theory is flawed in some way.

Thanks in advance...
schrederman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:44 PM   #2

Regulator

Hi,

1 regulator could fail one time out and how would you know it? Without testing after everytime out, the only way to tell would be after the second failed and you blew the lines. Personally, I only run one and have fun camping.
terry.e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 08:14 PM   #3
B47

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry.e View Post
Hi,