Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-06-2017, 09:35 AM   #1

Sheepish winterizing question

18 months and this is my first attempt at winterizing. I've tackled big things on this unit, but somehow winterizing gives me the bejeebers. I don't know why.

Here is my silly question.

I got a 'plug' to attach to the incoming water line and to my air compressor. Actually two questions. The plug is just a plug........if I stick it on the compressor hose, and turn compressor on, pressure will build but there's no 'trigger' to shoot air upon demand. I am going to Lowe's and see if I can find a piece with a trigger to stick between the compressor hose and the plug connected to trailer. But surely I can.

The real question...........is........when I shoot air into the system, do I open EVERY faucet, leave all low point drains open? Seems they'd all have to be open to get water out of all of them. Yet, seems I read that someone said do them one at a time.

So, as I shoot air, which water faucets are open?

OK, a third question........sorry. The one thing that I am having trouble grasping, and giving me pause, is turning on the pump with the hose stuck in the antifreeze bottle. Bottle and hose is outside, pump is inside. I can't see what it's doing. What if the antifreeze runs out?

Sorry to be a dufus on this. I've spent a year getting things on this camper fixed and it's all great now. I don't want busted pipes. I have res. refrig., washer, icemaker, etc. Lots to go wrong. I only have 9 weeks to worry about it, I'm headed south 12/30........but dewinterizing is not a worry, just turn water on.

Thanks for help. Laughing at me is ok.

FROG AR-0019-242
2016 GMC Denali 3500Dually--2017 CC 36CKTS
BandJCarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 09:55 AM   #2
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by BandJCarm View Post