Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-20-2019, 08:29 PM   #1

Shower drains into black tank????

I purchased a 2019 East to West 25krb. We did a test run yesterday and discovered the shower was not draining. Turns out it was draining into the black tank??? I tested this several times by running the shower and then draining both the grey and black tanks. Sure enough it is plumbed into the black tank. This can't be correct, right? This is my first travel trailer and I am completely new to this. I will see the dealer but not until Monday. Can anyone shed sone light n this for me? Thanks in advance!!
ttoomey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 11:26 PM   #2
Retired Old Fart

Could they have put the wrong valve in (swapped positions - grey handle is actually on black tank, etc...)?

Are both drain lines to the dump valve the same size? I have a different FR brand, but my grey is a smaller line from the tank to the valve also.
dward51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 06:19 AM   #3

Probably as stated. Wrong handles. Gray drain is 1 1/2". Gray will transition into 3" for dumping. Black is 3". Sinks do drain into black tanks sometimes. It is by design. Showers only drain to gray.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 06:37 AM   #4

it's doubtful that any factory would intentionally plumb the shower(gray water) into the black tank, instead of the gray - as others say, you may be 'thinking' you're pulling the gray tank when you are actually pulling the black tank, or vice versa - the handle colors are not necessarily indicative of the 'color' of the tank... gray is 1 1/2", black is 3" sized tube. The handles can easily be reversed to 'solve' the problem. I believe they simply unscrew.
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 07:07 AM   #5
Site Team