Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-07-2013, 03:06 PM   #1

Stop Water Pump Hammering?

Hey guys. Im fairly new to RVing. One thing that just seems to really get on my nerves is when someone turns on a faucet halfway, the water pump will hammer (surely you guys know what I mean). Before anyone says something smart-ellic, yes the simple answer is to turn the faucet on all the way (and Id say the same thing if someone asked me)... but sometimes you don't need a full surge of water. Not to mention it helps conserve some fresh water.

Im not sure whats so annoying about water pumps to me... my previous camper was a 1981 Airstream. If you guys have used an older camper, you know what the "hum" is. Its the inverter and it hummed constantly as long as the camper was plugged in. It was way less annoying than a water pump IMO. Is their such thing as a silent water pump?

Sorry for my rambling!

2003 Salem by Forest River 25RLSS
5er, 25ft, Super Slide
El Camino Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:12 PM   #2
Mod free 5er

Is it the water pump cycling that annoys you or is it making a loud hammering? If the latter, it could be that the pump needs to be isolated better. I mounted one of ours on a plywood platform thru the rubber grommets on the pump and then mounted the plywood on grommets also and cut the noise down significantly.
Old 11-07-2013, 03:13 PM   #3
Future Berkshire Owner

I have the same issue. Someone stated they installed one of these. I have not yet but I have heard they work.

SharkBite 22630LF 1/2-Inch Residential SharkBite Water Hammer Arrestor by Sharkbite http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00A8HV176/..._cq.Esb019REC1
Old 11-07-2013, 03:17 PM   #4