Old 07-04-2017, 01:02 PM   #1

Water Heater Won't Release Hot Water

Hi friends, I'm new to RVing but not to plumbing and electrical, so feel free to get as technical (or not) as you wish.

I have a Suburban gas/electric hot water heater that won't release hot water from the tank. I've been living here for about three weeks now, and it worked fine at first. But a few days ago, suddenly nothing.

This model has only one bypass valve. I've tried it in both positions for fun. When in bypass position, cool water flows from the hot tap. When in normal position, nothing comes out of the hot tap at all (cold water still flows fine).

The tank is absolutely full and heating, just not releasing any hot water. The hot water pipe never warms to the touch, no matter how long I leave the tap open.

I'm on day three of sweating in the Texas heat with no proper shower. Please save me. Thanks for taking time to help.
shannonlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 01:16 PM   #2

Sounds like your hot water line from the heater is plugged by either debris or a failed closed valve. Do you have a hot water isolation valve with a handle or is it a check valve? (There are at least 5 versions of water heater valves - see attached plumbing pic. Since you said you have a "bypass valve" I'm guessing you have either option #1 or option #5.) Note that since you're not getting any water, your blockage could actually be on either the cold inlet or the hot outlet. Either one would prevent flow.

First thing I would try is to drain and refill the heater and see if that helps. You'll need a 1-1/16" socket and a ratchet/breaker bar to remove the anode rod to drain it.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf RV Plumbing pic.pdf (194.9 KB, 110 views)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 06:16 PM   #3
Head Rambler