Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-01-2012, 07:52 AM   #1

Water pump issue

I have a salem 30KQBSS I flushed the lines this weekend while I was camping to get the pink stuff out and camped all weekend using the city water, I then filled my fresh water tank before leaving since our next trip will not have a water hookup. I turned the water pump on, and nothing happened, i couldnt hear it running, all fuses were fine, I could not find any valves to open going into the water pump? Where else could they be located? I also do not have any water in my hot water tank, I am brand new to all this and the dealer winterized for me last year? any suggestions?
Old 05-01-2012, 08:16 AM   #2
J. Parham

Did the dealer leave the line from tank to pump disconnected?
Nights Camped in 2012: 85
snjparham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:18 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

As for water not being in the water heater, did you turn ALL the valves on the back of the water heater to get it out of winterization mode? Since you don't have water in it, I hope you didn't light it or turn on the electric element if equipped. If, damage is done, the electric element is fried, and will need replacing.

As for the pump, do you know where it is? Turn it on, and open one faucet, and wait. May take a minute to prime itself. May not prime itself unless a faucet is open. If you know where the pump is, turn it on, and put your hand on it. You should feel it running, even if you can't hear it.

Good Luck.
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:20 AM   #4
Site Team - Lou

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRAVLINOHIO View Post