RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 06-18-2020, 09:51 AM   #1

What heating element?

Hey everybody, I did something really dumb and forgot to open my bypass valves before turning my water heater on. Now it's not producing any hot water and I'm pretty sure I fried the element. My issue is I'm leaving for a 2-week trip on Saturday and I can't seem to find any water heater elements locally or on Amazon that will get here in time.

Is there some way to force the water heater to use propane instead of electricity? This is a total noob question, I just got the RV last week and don't know much about it. Will the water heater work without the element?
blanksky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 09:54 AM   #2

you should have a switch on the outside. Just turn it off. Make sure you do, because if the element melted and bent, it could touch the sides of the tank and cause a hot skin condition.

Once you engage the switch on the inside for the gas, it will work on gas only. at least that's how mine works.

EDIT: and read up on RV hot skin condition. test it before you accidentally harm yourself.

EDIT #2 for safety: flip off the circuit for the HW heater to be safe.
Old 06-18-2020, 09:57 AM   #3
Kanadian Kamper

Quote:
Originally Posted by blanksky View Post
Hey everybody, I did something really dumb and forgot to open my bypass valves before turning my water heater on. Now it's not producing any hot water and I'm pretty sure I fried the element. My issue is I'm leaving for a 2-week trip on Saturday and I can't seem to find any water heater elements locally or on Amazon that will get here in time.

Is there some way to force the water heater to use propane instead of electricity? This is a total noob question, I just got the RV last week and don't know much about it. Will the water heater work without the element?
Do you know what make and model of water heater you have?