Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2014, 09:16 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5
12 Volt Battery problem

My Battery is reading 12.44 volts.
Lights inside my camper not working.
Any suggestions?

2007 Forest River, Flagstaff, 625D Model
jimvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 10:22 AM   #2
Where should we go next!
 
Offagain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago,IL.
Posts: 121
Are you plugged into shore power? If not, plug in and let your converter top off your battery. If that doesn't do it, it may be a bad battery or converter. I just replaced both on mine. New group 24 battery from Costco=$90. New PowerMax MainBoardAssembly(Didn't need to replace the whole converter, just the board) =$125.

You can see a video of a MBA swap out here. http://vimeo.com/15713417

Hope this helps and good luck.
__________________

Ford F-150 4X4 Supercrew Ecoboost
Surveyor SV291
Equalizer 4-point 10K lbs.
Offagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 10:34 AM   #3
Where should we go next!
 
Offagain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago,IL.
Posts: 121
There's a way to test your converter at the battery with a volt meter. Someone here will chime in with that.

On mine, I wasn't getting any DC power with the camper plugged in and the battery disconnected. It always used to. Called WFCO and explained it to them and they said"That's a tell tale sign your converter died".

Battery was old so I just went ahead and replaced it. It hadn't been holding a charge for very long for quite some time. I never boon dock so I didn't bother getting a new one. However you do need a good battery hooked to rig while plugged in because the battery acts as a buffer for the converter. If no battery while plugged in, the converter will put out full power,shortening the life of the converter.
__________________

Ford F-150 4X4 Supercrew Ecoboost
Surveyor SV291
Equalizer 4-point 10K lbs.
Offagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 10:36 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Triguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 6,949
Have you checked all of the breakers and fuses at the converter and within and outside the camper?

You should have a resettable breaker between the battery and your camper's converter (located on positive wire usually a few feet behind the battery). I'm not familiar with your model, but that's one of the first thing I would check. Here are two pics of common types. It might have a plastic cover (green and red are common).





You might also have a separate 30amp fuse. If so, check if its good.
__________________
Scott
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:04 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5
Offagain.

I do have lights working when plugged in to shore power.
Brand new battery. Also lights work when plugged into my vehicle.
jimvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 12:14 PM   #6
Where should we go next!
 
Offagain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago,IL.
Posts: 121
How long has the battery been connected to the camper without being plugged into shore power? I know on mine, the battery will go dead if I leave it connected for a week or so without having it plugged into shore power.

Something in my camper draws power from the battery when it's connected and everything is shut off. Don't know what it is, but it kills my battery.

I remove my battery when I get home and leave it connected to a battery tender.

A lot of forum users have battery kill switches on their campers to prevent killing the battery when camper isn't being used.

Try plugging into shore power and see if it charges back up.
__________________

Ford F-150 4X4 Supercrew Ecoboost
Surveyor SV291
Equalizer 4-point 10K lbs.
Offagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 12:18 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5
Offagain,
My battery is reading 12.4 volts... So it's fully charged...Just no 12 volt power to any of my lights inside the camper? I will check all the fuses tonight when i get home.
jimvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 01:49 PM   #8
Where should we go next!
 
Offagain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago,IL.
Posts: 121
Odd that you're getting lights while connected to tow vehicle, but no lights without.

Give it a little time. There's a lot of pretty sharp folks on here. In sure someone will be on here later on after work.
__________________

Ford F-150 4X4 Supercrew Ecoboost
Surveyor SV291
Equalizer 4-point 10K lbs.
Offagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 02:04 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
KMP44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Central New York
Posts: 1,042
Follow the advice Triguy listed. 12.4 volts is plenty to run your lights. They are working on shore power, which means they are being fed from your converter. There is a disconnect between the battery and the panel. Most likely its that resettable breaker under the frame or possibly an in-line fuse.
__________________


2017 F-250
2013 Rockwood Roo 23 IKSS
KMP44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 02:16 PM   #10
Where should we go next!
 
Offagain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago,IL.
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMP44 View Post
Follow the advice Triguy listed. 12.4 volts is plenty to run your lights. They are working on shore power, which means they are being fed from your converter. There is a disconnect between the battery and the panel. Most likely its that resettable breaker under the frame or possibly an in-line fuse.

I know that I have one about 2 feet or so from the battery. How do you reset one of those?
__________________

Ford F-150 4X4 Supercrew Ecoboost
Surveyor SV291
Equalizer 4-point 10K lbs.
Offagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 05:56 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5
KMP44

I do have a 40amp fuse. Should it 30amp?

Ok, I put a 20amp fuse in and it work.

Just need to know if i need a 30amp fuse.

Thank you all for helping solve this problem.
jimvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 08:44 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Triguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 6,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Offagain View Post
I know that I have one about 2 feet or so from the battery. How do you reset one of those?
See that little button on the side of the gray breaker in the picture above? Press that to reset if needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimvincent View Post
KMP44

I do have a 40amp fuse. Should it 30amp?

Ok, I put a 20amp fuse in and it work.

Just need to know if i need a 30amp fuse.

Thank you all for helping solve this problem.
Glad you solved the mystery. But, you should use the correct size fuse for your camper. I said 30amp previously but that was presumptuous as I don't know what the correct one is for your trailer.
__________________
Scott
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:02 PM   #13
Where should we go next!
 
Offagain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago,IL.
Posts: 121
[QUOTE=Triguy;658459]See that little button on the side of the gray breaker in the picture above? Press that to reset if needed.


Thanks Triguy.
I've read it mentioned many times that they are resettable, I just couldn't figure out how.
__________________

Ford F-150 4X4 Supercrew Ecoboost
Surveyor SV291
Equalizer 4-point 10K lbs.
Offagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:12 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Batts-toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ripon, California
Posts: 727
Check for a reset button (usually black or red on the side or end of the breaker (you can see it in Tri-guy's post above). push and release if this don't work use a test meter and check before and after the breaker, you may need to replace the breaker or test further. EDIT: I see you got it solved, congrats.
__________________
Dale & Terri, Lulu & Tiki (our Chihuahua's), New rescue puppy Prince - Pom/Pug mix.
2013 Tundra, Double Cab, 5.7, TRD Off-Road, 4X4, Full Tow Package
2013 Wildwood T26TBSS - Sold
2000 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager M-8357 MH, Ford Trident V10 Gasser, 35 foot.
Batts-toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 08:57 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
KMP44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Central New York
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimvincent View Post
KMP44

I do have a 40amp fuse. Should it 30amp?

Ok, I put a 20amp fuse in and it work.

Just need to know if i need a 30amp fuse.

Thank you all for helping solve this problem.
Generally, you won't hurt anything if you go with a smaller fuse - it just might be more prone to blow. Probably your best bet is to check with your dealer or find a member with the same trailer to verify what the right size fuse is. Glad to hear you got it working.
__________________


2017 F-250
2013 Rockwood Roo 23 IKSS
KMP44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 10:10 AM   #16
Where should we go next!
 
Offagain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago,IL.
Posts: 121
If this is a resettable fuse, do they go bad and does anyone carry a spare?

Never had a problem, but thinking of buying a couple and storing in the rig.
__________________

Ford F-150 4X4 Supercrew Ecoboost
Surveyor SV291
Equalizer 4-point 10K lbs.
Offagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 10:25 AM   #17
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Offagain View Post
If this is a resettable fuse, do they go bad and does anyone carry a spare?

Never had a problem, but thinking of buying a couple and storing in the rig.
If it is resetable id replace it with a auto resetting circuit breaker.

Yes they do go bad.
And they just wont reset anymore.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 12:27 PM   #18
Where should we go next!
 
Offagain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago,IL.
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
If it is resetable id replace it with a auto resetting circuit breaker.

Yes they do go bad.
And they just wont reset anymore.

Ok, thanks.
__________________

Ford F-150 4X4 Supercrew Ecoboost
Surveyor SV291
Equalizer 4-point 10K lbs.
Offagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt, battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.