RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2013, 04:20 PM   #1
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Red face 12 volt outlets

So what's the deal?

My new 5er has 0.00 12 volt plugs anywhere in the unit. My old Lakota had one in the kitchen one in the entertainment center and one in the pass thru storage.

Guess I have another project in front of me, wire crawl, wire crawl, pull, swear, etc.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:57 PM   #2
Always Learning
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Four Corners, FL
Posts: 20,122
Interesting. My Sabre has 3 if I recall correctly- one in the basement storage area and 2 in the kitchen above the "charging station".

Not a helpful response, I know... sorry.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | Was a Fulltime Family for 5 years, now we're settlin' down for a spell
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:09 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 719
My Surveyor has ZERO 12 volt plugs ...

Why do you need 12 volts ?
__________________
2009 Ford F-150 XLT/XTR 5.4l, CrewCab. long bed
2011 Surveyor SV-291
Goomph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:17 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goomph View Post
My Surveyor has ZERO 12 volt plugs ...

Why do you need 12 volts ?
Cell phone chargers
Ipod chargers
Awning lights
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:22 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
awwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Biloxi, Ms
Posts: 705
Motor Homes are just as bad. Mine has (1). In the cabinet above the passenger seat mounted in the TV antenna amp. Virtually useless. I just stocked up on the AC chargers for the phones and tablets.
__________________
Wayne & Susan Biloxi,Ms
2012 GeorgeTown 351DS...2015 Ford Focus/Brake Buddy
FROG Member
awwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
RPAspey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: central PA
Posts: 978
12v outlets very much needed especially when boondocking with kids at night.
__________________
2000 Cherokee 29BH with 6V batteries, LED lights & 400 watts of solar power, flipped axles and raised. 2007 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB with lots of mods. C-co, 8/158th AVN Maint.
RPAspey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:25 PM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPAspey View Post
12v outlets very much needed especially when boondocking with kids at night.
X2
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 719
For boondocking yes, I understand and agree. I have no 12 volt chargers, everything is 120V. That is why I asked, not to be a trouble maker

I ran an EXTERNAL 12 volt outlet so that I can use my tire inflator. That was my only complaint.
__________________
2009 Ford F-150 XLT/XTR 5.4l, CrewCab. long bed
2011 Surveyor SV-291
Goomph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:42 PM   #9
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
So what's the deal?

My new 5er has 0.00 12 volt plugs anywhere in the unit. My old Lakota had one in the kitchen one in the entertainment center and one in the pass thru storage.

Guess I have another project in front of me, wire crawl, wire crawl, pull, swear, etc.
Before you go to all of that trouble are you sure you don't have one in the cabinet by your television. It took me awhile to find mine, which was very hard to see. I had to open the door in the entertainment cabinet and it was above where I turn my antenna booster on/off, and beside where I could plug in auxiliary TV inputs. It blended in with the cabinet without a light.

A 275VRLS and my travel trailer have real similar floor plans which is why I suggested you look where I did.

See pic
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0157.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	26138  
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I often say to myself, "I can't believe that cloning machine worked."
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:09 PM   #10
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 23,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goomph View Post
For boondocking yes, I understand and agree.
not just for boondocking, dry camping also. in California, less than 1% of our state park campsites have electric hookups.
so, dry camping is way of life out here.

my Roo 23SS has 0 12v outlets.
so i'm installing a 400w inverter for recharging things and running the tv and dvd on battery power.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:25 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
backin15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 393
Mine last camper had 2, but my Flagstaff has none. I've just been using the lighter in my truck but I think I am going to add one in the camper this year.
__________________
backin15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:38 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
PineForestCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 319
Quite the focus group here...I wonder if people on the mfg side of things read this. :-)


I dont even have the new camper yet and I'm putting together a plan for more 12v outlets (chargers..night light for kids..awning lights). It's coming with one but I want more. I dry camp 99% of the time and am going to have two 12v batteries wired in parallel. How am I going to access that power with only one 12v outlet that is hidden behind the tv?!
__________________
2009 Chevy Silverado/2500/6.0/3.73/CC
2016 Keystone Outback 250URS
2013 Rockwood Roo 233s (SOLD)

https://instagram.com/pineforestcamper#
----------------------------------------
PineForestCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:48 PM   #13
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
Before you go to all of that trouble are you sure you don't have one in the cabinet by your television. It took me awhile to find mine, which was very hard to see. I had to open the door in the entertainment cabinet and it was above where I turn my antenna booster on/off, and beside where I could plug in auxiliary TV inputs. It blended in with the cabinet without a light.

A 275VRLS and my travel trailer have real similar floor plans which is why I suggested you look where I did.

See pic
Nope it's not there, even tho the amplified antenna is there with 12 volts hooked to it.. I will try to put one there right next to the cable TV amplifier for my computer.

I also plan to put one by the kitchen and also close to the bedroom TV Which is a 12 volt unit I use when drydocked. The 12 volt TV's use less amperage than a 110 volt on an inverter. I have already put a 3 plug unit in the pass through storage.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:51 PM   #14
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikendan View Post
not just for boondocking, dry camping also. in California, less than 1% of our state park campsites have electric hookups.
so, dry camping is way of life out here.

my Roo 23SS has 0 12v outlets.
so i'm installing a 400w inverter for recharging things and running the tv and dvd on battery power.
The inverters work but boy are they less efficient that a 12 appliance built to use 12 volt out of the box. It works tho if you have plenty of battery capacity.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:11 AM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,865
All aftermarket 12 volt outlets are not created equal. Some have very LOW amperage ratings. Make sure the one you choose is not an "accessory" outlet; but a "cigar lighter" rated one.

That will make sure the socket you choose has a high enough amperage rating for the appliance you will be plugging in.

Make SURE the wiring and fusing is also up to the task. The antenna amp fusing and wires are too small for much beyond 5 amps DC.

The max voltage supported is 8 amps DC on the OEM wall plate connector.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Power Limit.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	26157  
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:02 AM   #16
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Rolling buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,330
I have only one,at the TV area, What size of inverter would be necessaryto run 32" TV? I will be adding 3 more batts. TH came with exide nautilus, eventually would like to get Trojan's,but do not have funds yet for that. Found the exide batts. at menards, I can get 3 of them less than one of the better ones. So exide it is for this yr.
(This yr. is boliy gen set)
Rolling buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:03 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,302
Our V-Lite came with (1) in the Entertainment Center near the (Gameing) area,it also is used for the Air Pump Bed. I placed another (Cigar Outlet) in the Kit.beside the converter box,also another in the rear storage area to plug a small air compresser into. Now I had to place another one between the ConTone and the (New) XM station to (Plug in the power for XM) because the Fac.installed XM unit was (Solderd) at install, the new XM is (Plug & Play-Huh what a Joke)!! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:12 AM   #18
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Rolling buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,330
When you add 12v outlets,do you find existing, line and add too it? or run new, if new from where? direct from batt? or srvc panel?
Rolling buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:15 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,302
Also the main 12V need was for Our (American Flag) lite. I have a SS flag pole mounted to the front Aframe so I just use the (7) way plug for (Nite Time) flag lite power. Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:19 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,302
Depends on the load,low load,scab on ext.wire,large load Conn.Box W/breaker,or home run W/fuse. Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.