Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2016, 06:49 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Quakertown, PA
Posts: 55
15 amp vs. 30 amp

Good morning! I am picking up my tt tomorrow afternoon and I had some questions. I've never owned a tt before, so pardon my ignorance. The tt I am getting has a 30 amp hook-up. I see electrical adapters to plug this into a standard 15 amp outlet. If I do this (I don't have a 30 amp plug at my house and don't want to make one either), do I just have to be careful with what I turn on? I can't imagine the trailer KNOWING that it only has 15 amps available, but maybe I'm wrong.

Joe
joehbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 06:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
hordok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Indiana
Posts: 111
Joe, it depends on what you're getting. What TT are you picking up? My MH knows when I plug in what it 'thinks' it is and automatically disconnects things that consume too much. Usually the biggest power consumption is the A/C, which I leave off if I'm plugged into a 15 amp.

If you post what you're getting I'm sure that someone that has one will tell you what to expect and how to deal with it.
__________________
2016 Charleston BH
2017 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon - purple - toad
hordok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 07:04 AM   #3
clr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sherman Illinois
Posts: 1,025
In a MH they have a power management system and some of these may know the difference between 50AMP and 30 AMP service. A TT does not have a PMS so you are correct the TT does not know if you are connected to 15 Amps or 30 Amps. For pre trip cooling of the fridge and running the converter and some lights you will be fine. Do not try and run the AC on the 15 Amp service and you should be fine.
__________________
Chuck & Sandra
Engineer/Teacher
2010 F350 CC 6.4
2015 Prime Time Sanibel 3601
clr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 07:04 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Quakertown, PA
Posts: 55
Thanks! I'm getting a 2014 Cruise Lite 261BH.

Joe
joehbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 07:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by joehbus View Post
Thanks! I'm getting a 2014 Cruise Lite 261BH.

Joe
You can run your "12V Items" don't try your AC or Micro! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 07:11 AM   #6
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 9,544
Here's my suggestion just to get you started.
Plug into 15 AMP ok but
shut off electric water heater and don't try to use the Air Conditioner.
You can use lights and exhaust fans and watch TV and run the fridge.
Also no electric heaters or electric "fireplaces" except when the "flames" are on but the heat is off.
Keep your cord short and we recommend heavy duty 14 GA extension cord
if you have to use one. Old familiar orange 16 GA isn't really up to the task.

Enjoy and by all means
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32, 2020-41
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 07:15 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
15 amp vs. 30 amp

Here's a chart with amp rating so you know what you can use.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...aws-17300.html


Remember your converter " 1-8 amps" depending on 12v load and battery is a constant that is "always" on.

2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "5"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 07:16 AM   #8
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,931
Howdy joehbus and welcome aboard. For those new to RV'ing, I always recommend the following reading to get a basic understanding of the electric systems that are common to most everything and also explains using the adapter you are asking about:


Basic RV Electricity - RV Information (RV Maintenance)

then when you read the above, move on to this one to get an understanding of the converters function (which converts 120 volts AC to 12 volt DC power, as well as recharges your battery)

RV Converters and Amp Draw - RV Information (RV Maintenance)

Then this may or not apply to your RV, depending on what model/brand water heater you have. If you do have the Suburban water heater, this is one of the most confused items and also one that dealers fail to properly explain the operation of to their customers.

Even if you have an Atwood, the part about the bypass/crossover valves in this link below would still apply though.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ore-36197.html

Good luck
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 07:51 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Quakertown, PA
Posts: 55
Great info, thanks guys!
joehbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 08:24 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 3,018
I strongly urge you to use an extension cord that is 12 guage, not 14 or 16. 12 guage is rated up to 20 amps and most (but not all) household wall outlets are actually on 20 amp breakers. Using undersize wire can lead to voltage drop, overheating, and possibly even fire. I easily run my AC and fridge on household current, just be sure no one turns on the microwave.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 08:29 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Quakertown, PA
Posts: 55
Thanks. I have a 20 amp outlet in my garage, it was designed to be for a freezer, so it's the only thing on the circuit, and since I don't have a freezer there I was going to use this outlet. My kids and I want to "camp" in it this weekend, but it's going to be hot so I really wanted to use the a/c. I'll use a heavy gauge extension cord and make sure nothing else is on. Thanks!

Joe
joehbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 08:39 AM   #12
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 9,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreekWoody View Post
most (but not all) household wall outlets are actually on 20 amp breakers
Not necessarily true. The only way to know that is check the panel!
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32, 2020-41
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 08:48 AM   #13
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 14,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreekWoody
most (but not all) household wall outlets are actually on 20 amp breakers
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
Not necessarily true. The only way to know that is check the panel!
Not even 'most'.
None (zero/zip/nada) of my house wall outlets are on 20 amp breakers.
As kyDan said the the ONLY way to know is look at the breaker feeding the outlet.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '18=51 '19=58 '20=110 '21=94
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 08:53 AM   #14
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Unless your receptacle looks like this it's probably only 15 amp.
Most household outlets are 15 amp and a fridge or freezer certainly doesn't require a 20 amp outlet as they only draw about 5-6 amps




2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "5"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 08:57 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Quakertown, PA
Posts: 55
Oh, no... I'm not assuming this outlet is 20 amp, I KNOW it is. It's a single outlet, not a double, and the breaker is 20 amps, I can trace the wire all the way from the box to the outlet, it's the ONLY thing on the circuit. I just bought a 12-gauge extension cord, and I already had the 30-15 adapter.

Joe
joehbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 09:06 AM   #16
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 14,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by joehbus View Post
Oh, no... I'm not assuming this outlet is 20 amp, I KNOW it is. It's a single outlet, not a double, and the breaker is 20 amps, I can trace the wire all the way from the box to the outlet, it's the ONLY thing on the circuit. I just bought a 12-gauge extension cord, and I already had the 30-15 adapter.

Joe
You should be good to go Joe.
I have successfully run trailer A/C's off a 15 amp adapter/outlet/breaker for more years than I care to count. As mentioned, be mindful of anything else operating on 110v when using the A/C.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '18=51 '19=58 '20=110 '21=94
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 01:53 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
bend302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bronston, KY
Posts: 734
My MH doesn't have any Power Mgt System and I have 20A service at my storage. I make sure WH and ACs are off and have never had a problem.

I turn on refrig a few days before trips and with all else but converter off I have started microwave.

Bill
bend302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 02:22 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 7,184
We use the AC with our Cedar Creek on 15amp. We use nothing else, well the tv.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
spock123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 02:57 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 3,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Not even 'most'.
None (zero/zip/nada) of my house wall outlets are on 20 amp breakers.
As kyDan said the the ONLY way to know is look at the breaker feeding the outlet.
Hence the reason to use 12 guage wire-it will handle either 15 or 20 amp if you're not sure which you have.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 10:08 PM   #20
MCTroy
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Troy.Ohio
Posts: 990
Thanks for the link to the electric usage list. I am posting this inside our cupboards for reference.
__________________
2015 Windjammer 3029 Diamond Edition
2018 Ram 2500
Ohio River Rat
MCTroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.