Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-03-2021, 11:00 AM   #1

2590s - install lithium batteries inside

I have a 2021 Rockwood 2509s with the solar package and it came with 2 wet cell batteries in a box on the tongue. These batteries work ok, but don't last very long. I want to get some lithium batteries but I want to put them in the box on the tongue. I don't think I can fit two (or more), I'm concerned about the temperature here in Colorado, and I'm worried about theft.

I would like to put them under the couch but does anyone have experience rerouting the battery cables from the tongue to inside the camper ? Is this difficult to do?
2014 Toyota Tundra
2021 Rockwood Mini Lite 2509s
rgwaldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2021, 11:14 AM   #2

I have no experience with you model so I will just say it depends.

If your battery disconnect and in-line fusing is at the nose near the current batteries, than you can either run your wires from the new location back up to the nose (larger wire for longer run) or you can move the fuse/disconnect closer to the battery. You will still need to run something to the nose for the tongue jack and emergency brake cable but the battery to converter cable may be shorter.

As for running the cables, if you have an enclosed under belly it can be a pain but if its open than its fairly easy to follow existing runs using a generous supply of zip ties.

looking at your model on line, if you are putting them under the couch at the front of the camper it should be pretty straight fwd, hardest part would be finding/making an entry hole.
Old 11-03-2021, 11:19 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgwaldron View Post