Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-23-2021, 01:26 PM   #1
Trailer Trash

300W of Solar should replace 100AH of usage daily?

So I am new to this and suck at math. But here's what I think I need.
I would appreciate you correcting or confirming my research.

I have a 200AH AGM battery. I have never been below 12.3 V with overnight usage, but want to use the 50% (12.0ish V's) or 100AH's of usage as my benchmark for completing my solar build.

I understand the variables of conditions and overall efficiency of advertised claims, but lets use "optimal" to keep it simple.

Renogy claims 1200WH of daily output depending on 4 hours of sunlight availability. (3 x 100W panels @ 400WH ea.)

1200WH divided by 12.7V = 94.48AH.

I will be using an MPPT controller. I also have 100w of portable solar to supplement, if necessary.

So "in theory" if I left the solar charging all day even in conditions that are a little less than optimal, this much solar should have no trouble completely recharging my battery?

Thank you in advance for any help!
Old 12-23-2021, 08:25 PM   #2

I'm having a little trouble following your math. Not because of your description. It's because I can't jump back and forth between Amp hours and watt hours. So let me explain it my way.

You have a 200Ah battery. Using the "don't use more than 50%" means you have 100 usable Amp hours. So you're trying to make sure you can put 100Ah back into the battery even on less than an optimal day.

I've installed renogy solar panels on my last three RVs. Generally speaking you'll get 5A per hour for 4-5 hours a day. And that's on a GOOD day. On overcast or rainy days you'll get a lot less.

So 3x 100 watt panels = 15 amps per hour, times 4 hours = 60Ah... not the 100Ah that you need.

4 panels would give you 80Ah. Remember, these are good sunny days.