Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2015, 06:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 51
30amp to 30amp adapter?

Several years ago during a remodel, my husband had the electricians install an outside 30amp plug for our travel trailer, which I'm not sure he ever tried to use. I now have a new TT and when I tried to plug in, I found that because the plug is a "flat" plug with the cord coming out the side, the outlet is recessed inside the box, the sides of the box prohibit plugging in. I can remove the box every time if I have to. I can also use my 30amp to 15amp adapter and plug in to my regular outside plug. But I was wondering if there exists some sort of pigtail or adapter plug that is 30amp to 30amp. Whenever I search online, the results I get are 30-50 or 30-15.
__________________
2015 Rockwood Mini Lite 1901
2017 Ford F150 EcoBoost
Terrib972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 06:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 196
If the outlet has never been used, it would be a good idea to make sure the electrician wired it correctly. Some electricians are not familiar with rv wiring. They are accustomed to setting up a 30 amp - 240 Volt for households. Your outlet should be 120 Volts.

You may have to use multiple connectors to get the proper setup.

Good luck,
Don
__________________
Don and Michele
3 Adult Children - 5 Grandchildren
Present campsite - future homesitehttps://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg119/dmdrj5/lake/dividingcreekviewfromhouselocation.jpg?t=120311985  4
dmdrj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 06:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ddubya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sherman Texas
Posts: 294
Most 30 amp RV boxes have a cut out on the bottom to allow the cable to recess into. That allows the plug to mate with the socket without the cable hitting the bottom of the box.
Sounds like the wrong box was installed.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Alpine 3401RS,Titan Disc,Morryde SRE 4000, 2016 Ram 3500HD Laramie SRW,LWB,4X4, Aisin transmission

Ddubya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 06:36 PM   #4
Canadian Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Eastern GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,406
If you can, please post a picture so we can see what you've got to deal with.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Signature 8290BS, Reese Revolution pinbox and B&W Patriot 18K hitch
2016 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCrew, 6.2L, 4x4, 6'9" bed, 3.73, w/ snow plow & camper pkgs.
2011 Rockwood Signature 8293SS (2015 - 2018)
2010 Rockwood Roo 23SS (2012 - 2014)

itat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 06:51 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 16,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by itat View Post
If you can, please post a picture so we can see what you've got to deal with.
x2
__________________
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 28; Booked = 50
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 07:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 51
Pictures, as requested.





__________________
2015 Rockwood Mini Lite 1901
2017 Ford F150 EcoBoost
Terrib972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 07:29 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 735
Huh... A licensed electrician did that?!? I would recommend you hire another to straighten what is wrong out.
__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 07:37 PM   #8
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by geotex1 View Post
Huh... A licensed electrician did that?!? I would recommend you hire another to straighten what is wrong out.
Looks like the normal face plate was replaced with a water resistant cover. Sure doesn't look like it is an outside receptacle.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 07:47 PM   #9
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrib972 View Post
Pictures, as requested.






OK, if that's what I had to work with, I'd just turn either the receptacle or the box over. Though, if the receptacle is sideways like that, I'd actually replace the box. Weather boxes like that are meant to be used with the hinge up, not to the side.




Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk... unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 07:57 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
This is what you should have.
This is my 30 amp receptacle.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1426813056973.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	83.7 KB
ID:	71731   Click image for larger version

Name:	1426813066017.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	71732  
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 08:09 PM   #11
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 16,587
I used something similar to this:

GE 30 Amp Temporary RV Power Outlet-U013P - The Home Depot
__________________
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 28; Booked = 50
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 09:22 PM   #12
Canadian Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Eastern GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,406
The box for the 30 Amp outlet should be like Turbs'. Replace that box. The other one could use a better weatherproof cover like this one Greenfield Duplex Weatherproof Electrical Outlet Cover Horizontal - Gray-CDRHPS - The Home Depot.

The good news is that if you've already connected to this plug and nothing blew up in your trailer, it's probably wired properly for 120VAC.
itat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 09:37 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 735
The style TURBS has won't fly in many areas now when the code official is on top of use. What is common is:



Can be plugged in all the time and shrouded from weather.
__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 09:47 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by geotex1 View Post
The style TURBS has won't fly in many areas now when the code official is on top of use. What is common is:



Can be plugged in all the time and shrouded from weather.
Change it to this one. They don't work so well with the plugs with the handle on them but its not a big deal. The cover just hangs open a little. The electrician did a sloppy job but he did satisfy the NEC requiring outdoor receptacles to have a cover that is closed when in-use. The covers that are open when in use are a code violation for residences.
__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 07:16 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrib972 View Post
Pictures, as requested.





The electrician that installed that must not own an rv or ever seen the cable for one..
It looks like you have the wrong receptacle and box for the size of cable you have... I'd replace with one like Geotex posted.
The cover for that box should be able to be moved to the top side of the box.. I put one of them on for my 15 amp receptacle outside and changed the orientation of the cover easily...
The plug is also installed 180 degrees out to allow the cord to fit through the half moon break-away tab on the right hand side of the cover.. Not to mention that the weight of the cord will probably cause it to want to pull out, even if you can make it work...
__________________
Camped: 2020 (Days/Nights) - 58/49
2019 (D/N):27/20, 2018(D/N):24/17, 2017 (D/N):30/25, 2016 (D/N):32/23

TT: 2020 26' Hemisphere 26BHHL
TV: 2020 GMC 2500HD 4x4
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 07:35 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,682
Why not make your own jumper cable with straight plugs. It's just a simple pin to pin male to female plug assembly. HD or Lowes will assist you with items needed and what's required. Just a thought.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 08:01 AM   #17
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 9,554
The cost of 2 straight plugs would be close to cost of the correct box.
It's a shame you paid for this. The outlet is wrong orientation and
wrong box/cover. Maybe you can coax the electrician to make the
correct modification for just parts?? He really didn't do it right the 1st time.
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32, 2020-41, 2021-42
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 08:03 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Mikegjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Orange Park Fl.
Posts: 1,667
This is what I installed. It will cover your 30 amp and standard GFI outlet.
Just insure that who ever installs it wires each leg for 110.

Does require some space to install.

GE 100 Amp 2-Space 2-Circuit 240 Volt Unmetered RV Outlet Box with 30 Amp and 20 Amp GCFI Circuit Protected Receptacles-GE1LU032SS - The Home Depot
__________________
2014 Solera 24R
USN Retired
Mikegjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 08:20 AM   #19
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 16,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
The cost of 2 straight plugs would be close to cost of the correct box.
It's a shame you paid for this. The outlet is wrong orientation and
wrong box/cover. Maybe you can coax the electrician to make the
correct modification for just parts?? He really didn't do it right the 1st time.
I agree with this suggestion.
It's unlikely that you need to buy a huge box with its own breakers. If your current outlets as pictured are on nearby breakers, you don't need another set of inline breakers.
__________________
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 28; Booked = 50
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 09:31 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 51
Thanks everyone for all the helpful replies. When it stops raining, I'll go back out there and look at the situation again to see what I might do. I'm obviously not an electrician, but I do know how to test an outlet to make sure I've turned off the correct breaker and I've done a few minor things like installing a new thermostat. I also know how to test the voltage so I can verify that the 120v written on the outlet is actually what is wired. I have not yet actually plugged in with the cord attached to the RV so no damage there.

So I want to check and see how difficult it would be to orient the outlet differently along with replacing the boxes. I really don't want to pay an electrician at this point and going back to the original from years ago is unlikely. I guess in the meantime, I can just utilize the 30 to 15 amp adapter and just be careful not to turn on too much stuff. This should be fine just for the purposes of preparing for a trip.
__________________
2015 Rockwood Mini Lite 1901
2017 Ford F150 EcoBoost
Terrib972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.