Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2013, 05:36 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
dretired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,045
50 amp to 30 amp reducer cord

Since this is my first 5th wheel with a 50 amp power cord is it acceptable to use a 30 amp cord( with reducer) as an extension.. if ..I cant get my rig close enough to the power pedestal at the campground ??
__________________
2014 Crusader 325 TE....2012.. F 250.. Supercab XLT, 4x2 , diesel....days camped 2011 ... 28.... days camped 2012...115 ... days camped 2013...155...2014...171 and counting
dretired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 05:42 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,400
Yes if you treat it like (30) amp. Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 06:39 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,243
I'm on a 30 AMP seasonal site and use a 50 to 30 reducer/dogbone adapter with no problems. Like youroo said, I just treat it like a 30 AMP meaning I can't run the AC, microwave, and run the HW on electric all at the same time.
__________________
2020 Flagstaff Micro Lite 22FBS
Wiscampsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 07:26 AM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,995
Adding a 30 amp cord as an EXTENSION to a 50 amp cord has issues way beyond "watch your amperage use."

1) There will also be significant voltage loss in the 30 amp extension. You should monitor your voltage in the camper when you are doing this. ANY indication your AC is having trouble starting is cause for alarm.

2) If you use a 30 amp to 50 amp converter to plug into the 50 amp socket on the pole, you could cause a fire by overloading the 30 amp rated connections and the 30 amp rated cord.

As said before; this can be done, but is not recommended. In fact, many 30 amp campers use 50 amp rated extension cords to keep voltage loss to a minimum.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 08:28 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West St. Paul, Manitoba
Posts: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by dretired View Post
Since this is my first 5th wheel with a 50 amp power cord is it acceptable to use a 30 amp cord( with reducer) as an extension.. if ..I cant get my rig close enough to the power pedestal at the campground ??
If you are talking about using a 30 amp extension cord on a 50 amp service pole to a 50 amp service trailer not a good idea! See Herks post above. Think of it this way, the power pole has the ability to provide 50 amps before the breaker trips. (theoretically) The trailer has the ability to accept 50 amps before the trailer 50 amp electrical panel breaker trips. Now what you have in between is a 30 amp cord, your cord is now a fuse except that it won't trip but get hot and burn!

But if you are talking about plugging into a 30 amp service pole, with a 30 amp cord and adaptor to your 50 amp trailer you should be OK, because once you exceed 30 amps of power use the breaker at the power pole should trip.
__________________
Of all the things I've lost in my life the thing I miss the most is my mind!
prairiecamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 10:38 AM   #6
Anacortesians
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 1,166
If you're planning on a long extension cord, just make sure it's heavy enough gauge for 50A over that length. Monitor it for getting hot when you have heavy electrical usage.
__________________
Frank and Eileen
No longer RVers or FR owners
F and E Damp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 11:16 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: La Crescenta, CA
Posts: 229
NO, NO, NO.

DO NOT use a 30 amp cable on a 50 amp system. You can use a 50 amp cable on a 30 amp system, but not the otherway.
Big bird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 11:53 AM   #8
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Now I am really confused.

50 from camper to 30 amp extension to 30 amp pole ok.

50 from camper to 30 extension to 50 at pole no good.

To long and voltage drop problem.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 02:35 PM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
Now I am really confused.

50 from camper to 30 amp extension to 30 amp pole ok.

50 from camper to 30 extension to 50 at pole no good.

To long and voltage drop problem.
You are not confused. Your understanding is correct
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 02:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
5er_tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,452
How about the reverse senerio? I have a 30 AMP unit. I purchased a 50 to 30 converter cord in the unlikely event I get to an RV park that only has a 50 AMP site available.

Anything I need to worry about?

Thanks!
__________________
Tom & Renée
Durham, NC

2021 Jayco Class C model 27U
5er_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 03:08 PM   #11
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5er_tom View Post
How about the reverse senerio? I have a 30 AMP unit. I purchased a 50 to 30 converter cord in the unlikely event I get to an RV park that only has a 50 AMP site available.

Anything I need to worry about?

Thanks!
Not at all. You can only use as much power as the camper can take.

In the previous case, the camper can "take" more than the supply cord can handle.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 03:14 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
dretired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,045
I would plug the 30 amp cord into a 30 amp socket at the pedestal..and watch my use
__________________
2014 Crusader 325 TE....2012.. F 250.. Supercab XLT, 4x2 , diesel....days camped 2011 ... 28.... days camped 2012...115 ... days camped 2013...155...2014...171 and counting
dretired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 03:20 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
5er_tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
Not at all. You can only use as much power as the camper can take.

In the previous case, the camper can "take" more than the supply cord can handle.
That was my thought, thanks. It is a good item to have packed in the 5th wheel, just in case. I'll bet I never use it.
__________________
Tom & Renée
Durham, NC

2021 Jayco Class C model 27U
5er_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 03:24 PM   #14
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 25,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by dretired View Post
I would plug the 30 amp cord into a 30 amp socket at the pedestal..and watch my use
That's what I always originally thought the OP meant he was going to do. Hook a 30 amp extension cord to his 50 amp RV cord using a 50 amp female to 30 amp male adapter, then plug into a 30 amp outlet.

I guess we needed a little more clarification on how he planned to hook up everything, but I didn't see any problem (outside of being limited to using 30 amps of electrical items vs 50(x2), if he did it as described above.

EDIT: if I am visualizing this all correct, wouldn't the OP have needed two adapters if using it any other way (like trying to plug into a 50 amp outlet of the park pedestal)

Ex 1: (assuming the 50 amp power cord is the detachable kind) If he tried to hook a 30 amp cord directly to his trailer first, then he would need some kind of special adapter to allow a 30 amp cord to be plugged into a 50 amp RV......then he would need another special adapter to plug the male end of the 30 amp cord into the female end of the RV's 50 amp detached cord......before the 50 amp cord could be plugged into the park pedestals 50 amp outlet.

Ex 2: If he plugged the RV's 50 amp cord into the RV first, then he would need an adapter to hook the 30 amp extension cords female to the 50 amps cords male......and then another adapter that would allow him to plug the 30 amp male to a 50 amp female, then let him plug into the 50 amp outlet at the park pedestal.

Either one of those scenarios would be wrong, I also don't think either of the above is what the OP was envisioning, as he only stated using one adapter

EDIT 2: dretired, I now see you are the OP and already clarified yourself. Good deal.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If I eat myself will I become twice as big?...or disappear all together?
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 03:27 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Oakman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jefferson County, MO
Posts: 5,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by dretired View Post
I would plug the 30 amp cord into a 30 amp socket at the pedestal..and watch my use
BINGO! Yep, that's the way you use a 30 amp extension cord for a 50 amp trailer. You will need a 30 amp male with a 50 amp female dogbone adapter.
__________________


Bob and Joyce
2013 CC Silverback 29RL
2010 Ford F250 XL Crew Cab 6.4 liter diesel
ATU Local 788
Oakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 04:21 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5er_tom View Post
How about the reverse senerio? I have a 30 AMP unit. I purchased a 50 to 30 converter cord in the unlikely event I get to an RV park that only has a 50 AMP site available.

Anything I need to worry about?

Thanks!
50 amp only won't happen, but what if you draw 40amp and your breaker is bum? Not a good idea either.
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 04:37 PM   #17
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post
50 amp only won't happen, but what if you draw 40amp and your breaker is bum? Not a good idea either.
In the way that dretired explained his use, the limiting factor will be the 30A Breaker on the pedestal. His Power Control Center should have a dual 50A Main.

So the pedestal breaker "should" protect the 30A Extension.

I made up a 50A Extension, and should I encounter his situation I'll be AWG 6 to the pedestal. Less line loss.

RodeoGeorge
__________________
2013 Rockwood 8289WS
Mods: Central Vac, PI EMS-HW50C, 2025RV, (2) SCS225 Trojans, PD9260, Awning Remotes & LED Lights, Eliminators, External Water Filter,, Intellijacks
2008 RAM 3500 Cab&Chassis Hauler Bed, B&W Companion Hitch
All My Modifications are at this link:
https://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ons-36212.html
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 06:46 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
Yes if you treat it like (30) amp. Youroo!!
I still stand by my org.advice! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 07:21 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
I still stand by my org.advice! Youroo!!
Agree with you and Rodeo but I was responding to 5er_Tom with 50 amp pedestal supply, not 30A.
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 04:25 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
dretired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,045
I had put in a call to the service dept at General rv.. Telling them... that the State Park that we will be going to ..has 30 amp & 20 amp service at the pedestals..There question to me was "do you have a 2nd air conditioner " ? No..i do not was the answer ... There response.."No problem then " !! I am still going to have to watch which electrical devices are being used at any given time ..just as I did with my previous 30 amp 5th wheel
__________________
2014 Crusader 325 TE....2012.. F 250.. Supercab XLT, 4x2 , diesel....days camped 2011 ... 28.... days camped 2012...115 ... days camped 2013...155...2014...171 and counting
dretired is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.