RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 11:05 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Nice comparison chart. Thanks!

Same price as Amazon if you count shipping, and I can't tell what they have in-stock.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 12:11 PM   #22
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
Nice comparison chart. Thanks!

Same price as Amazon if you count shipping, and I can't tell what they have in-stock.
I don't know if it's happening in all states, or just some like Arizona where Amazon has a distribution warehouse, but I now (starting this year) have to pay tax on Amazon purchases.

That makes the RV Upgrade unit $349.49 with shipping, and the Amazon unit $377.23 with tax. So for ME, the RV Upgrade order would be best.

RodeoGeorge
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 12:49 PM   #23
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Arizona needs your money tho.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 01:31 PM   #24
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
Arizona needs your money tho.
Yes, but near as much as I do! LOL LOL

RodeoGeorge
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:56 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West St. Paul, Manitoba
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Monica View Post
I have a question for those that have 50A service in your camper. How many 120V AC circuits are wired in the camper? Hopefully, the answer is more than 2 circuits.

Dave
In our trailer (50 amp) electrical panel there is room for 12 circuits. Only 6 breakers are installed. 5 are dedicated breakers, microwave, wtr. heater, AC, converter, and fridge. It seems that only 1 circuit is left for counter plugs and all other AC outlets. I don't know if this is fact although looking at the elect. panel it appears that way!! It could be that the dedicated labelled circuits share a load with something else?? When it gets warmer I will do some investigation into the wiring. I want to run a dedicated circuit to the rear of the trailer for the entertainment system, TV, DVD, possible satellite receiver, etc. powered from a 1000 watt PSW inverter.
__________________
Of all the things I've lost in my life the thing I miss the most is my mind!
prairiecamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:43 PM   #26
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,327
It's a shame that they wire it that way...the service is the same as most houses. You'd think they'd at least run two circuits for split plugs in the kitchen.

The way our camper is set-up with the 30A service is 2 circuits; 1 circuit for the kitchen and 1 circuit for the rest of the camper that also has the converter on it.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 11:03 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West St. Paul, Manitoba
Posts: 882
You know 50 amp might be nice, but I venture to guess that we will only have 30 amps 95% of the time! And that 50 amp cord is an anaconda as someone here once said. And you're right they could have done a better wiring job.
__________________
Of all the things I've lost in my life the thing I miss the most is my mind!
prairiecamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 11:22 PM   #28
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
I made another power cord using 10/4 SO that is 30' long, and still weighs less than half of the stock cord. When I am not using two ACs it is more than adequate. And a heck of a lot easier to handle.

RodeoGeorge
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 12:26 AM   #29
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
My panel

Here is my panel FYI
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	58.9 KB
ID:	24722  
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 12:31 AM   #30
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa3pnt View Post
I don't know if it's happening in all states, or just some like Arizona where Amazon has a distribution warehouse, but I now (starting this year) have to pay tax on Amazon purchases.

That makes the RV Upgrade unit $349.49 with shipping, and the Amazon unit $377.23 with tax. So for ME, the RV Upgrade order would be best.

RodeoGeorge
Makati is 318.47$
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 01:08 AM   #31
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
Makati is 318.47$
I googled Makati, and Makati RV, and could not come up with anything.

Do you have a link please?

RodeoGeorge
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 05:20 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West St. Paul, Manitoba
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa3pnt View Post
I made another power cord using 10/4 SO that is 30' long, and still weighs less than half of the stock cord. When I am not using two ACs it is more than adequate. And a heck of a lot easier to handle.

RodeoGeorge
Are you saying that the power cord you made has a 50 amp plug but the cable is only rated for 30 amps. Isn't that a little unsafe? Just asking?
__________________
Of all the things I've lost in my life the thing I miss the most is my mind!
prairiecamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:30 PM   #33
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Makarios rv is what I meant spellcheck.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:32 PM   #34
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by prairiecamper View Post
Are you saying that the power cord you made has a 50 amp plug but the cable is only rated for 30 amps. Isn't that a little unsafe? Just asking?
Not unsafe at all. Consider the fact that I have effectively two 30A Power cords. I have been using this type arrangement for several years. The cable does not even get warm, AND I do not use that cable if I am going to run both ACs.

With the internal distribution set up correctly (can be done by changing circuits around) I wind up with the main AC on one leg, and the water heater, fridge, and microwave on the other leg. Neither of which even approaches 30A. If balanced correctly, the Neutral carries very little current.

I've also checked the voltage drop across the cable, and it is minimal.

RodeoGeorge
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:32 PM   #35
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Progressive Electrical Management System, Hardwire 50A/240V EMS-HW50C
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:37 PM   #36
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
Thanks for the link. Definitely the best price I've seen, and reasonable shipping to boot.

In fact, just ordered one.

RodeoGeorge
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:52 PM   #37
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
They seem to be pretty squared away and prompt in my limited experience.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 07:45 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West St. Paul, Manitoba
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa3pnt View Post
Not unsafe at all. Consider the fact that I have effectively two 30A Power cords. I have been using this type arrangement for several years. The cable does not even get warm, AND I do not use that cable if I am going to run both ACs.

With the internal distribution set up correctly (can be done by changing circuits around) I wind up with the main AC on one leg, and the water heater, fridge, and microwave on the other leg. Neither of which even approaches 30A. If balanced correctly, the Neutral carries very little current.

I've also checked the voltage drop across the cable, and it is minimal.

RodeoGeorge
Well I guess that works for you and that's good. Maybe it's the way we camp but if I have a 50 amp pedestal I will use the 50 amp cord. When we are at a 30 amp service pedestal (most of the time) I use a 30 amp cable and an adaptor at the trailer (30 to 50) to connect.
__________________
Of all the things I've lost in my life the thing I miss the most is my mind!
prairiecamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 10:33 AM   #39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Monica View Post
What I'm trying to determine is the number of 120V circuits for the duplex plugs for coffee maker, heaters, etc. Our camper with 30A service has 2 such circuits...I was wondering if a camper with 50A service (100A @ 120V) has more than 2.

Dave
Dave,
my 50-amp RV has 11 breakers, one of which covers 8 outlets (non-GFCI), and another of which drives all 5 GFCI outlets. Both of those breakers are 15 amp. The other 9 breakers are dedicated.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 10:57 AM   #40
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
Dave,
my 50-amp RV has 11 breakers, one of which covers 8 outlets (non-GFCI), and another of which drives all 5 GFCI outlets. Both of those breakers are 15 amp. The other 9 breakers are dedicated.
What I understand is that you still wouldn't be able to use both a electric fry pan and a toaster at the same time even with 50A service (100A @120V) as both receptacles are on the same circuit. That's disappointing!

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.