Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2014, 07:02 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
BeeGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Atlanta Ga metro area
Posts: 118
AC with a generator

I have a 20 amp generator. Will this run the ac ? Will it damage anything to try?
__________________
2012 Ford Lariat F-350 Super Duty
2014 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pack 27 TH
BeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:11 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
SKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,428
A 13.5k AC unit is on the far jagged edge of what a 2,000 can handle. I've seen it do it but barely and we didn't check the voltage so I don't know where that stood.
__________________
Now-2014 Sierra 346RETS 5er BUB
Then-2002 Keystone Springdale 286RLDS TT

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:23 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
mark0224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,443
Don't do it with a 2000 watt when the ac has run once and is hot it won't kick back on, a 3500 watt minimum to run ac. The 2000 watt will trip the reset on the Generator when it tries to come back on.
__________________
Think about things before you do them make life easier not harder.
mark0224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:39 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
As stated a 2000 watt is pushing it.
I wouldn't recommend it.

A 13.5k a/c draws about 16-20 amps during start up then runs about 12-14 amps while running.
Your converter is always running and it sees about 3-5 amps continuously.
A 3500 watt continous watt gennie would in my opinion be your minimum.

Generators can sometimes be misleading.
I seen one listed at "2000" watts but in small print it said "surge" watts.
Running watts was around 1650.

You need to look at running watts.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:41 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeGee View Post
I have a 20 amp generator. Will this run the ac ? Will it damage anything to try?
Low voltage would be a BIG concern!
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:50 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Blackrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE Arizona's Gila Vally
Posts: 1,334
What is the KW rating of your 20a generator?
It takes a good 3500KW to run most of the A/C units.
__________________
2016 RAM 1500 - 2016 Keystone Laredo 265SRK
The road goes on forever and the party never ends.
Illegitimum non carborundum
Blackrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:54 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Arefbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 881
Just to be clear - is it a 2000 watt generator or (20Amp x 120volt) = 2400 watts.
__________________
2011 PrimeTime Tracer 2600rls
Arefbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 08:21 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
jonrjen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 812
Don't do it, not enough output to keep things in check. This is why most people who have a 2K generator have two 2K generators and a parallel cord to tie them together making the total output at 4K.

As for why many of these folks to two 2K generators is that if a/c is not needed one generator may meet their needs for dry camping. Or that two 2K generators is much lighter to move around than the weight of a 4K generator
__________________
2018 Berkshire XL 40B

Past RVs: National Pacifica 40', Kenworth T300 Toterhome, Jayco Class C 32'. American Eagle 40',
American Eagle 40', Bounder 38' tag axle
jonrjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 08:26 AM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Actually. ......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1403270802307.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	55822  
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 11:51 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 22
We have the Yamaha 2300 HSIC and it easily runs our A/C. I did install a hard start kit to help with the initial start up.
climbbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 11:57 AM   #11
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by climbbike View Post
We have the Yamaha 2300 HSIC and it easily runs our A/C. I did install a hard start kit to help with the initial start up.
What kind of voltage are you putting out of the gennie when the a/c is running?
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 03:31 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 22
Volts? 120v . . . or are you asking if there is a drop in voltage? Or do you mean amps? Either way, we are out and about this weekend but I can measure it when we get back.
climbbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 03:39 PM   #13
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Voltage drop with a/c on
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 10:29 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
BeeGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Atlanta Ga metro area
Posts: 118
I will have to check the wattage of the gen. It says 20 amps on it but i never paid attention. Ive had the gen for 10 years or more. We always used it at race tracks or tent camping never tried to run a/c with it. Only fans lights radios and an occasional fry daddy. Ive never had to use it with our TH but an upcoming m/c rally has no hookups so i may need it. Maybe Ill just rent a bigger gen from home depot for the weekend
__________________
2012 Ford Lariat F-350 Super Duty
2014 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pack 27 TH
BeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 10:53 AM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Just was curious.
If you get a chance it would be great to know.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 01:03 PM   #16
Site Team
 
dcheatwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,438
I'm wondering if you are reading the outlet output on the gen.

Sent from my XT907 using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
2018 Forester 3011 DS

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 07:44 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
I have a 3100w Champion and it runs my a/c just fine! I'll check the voltage drop the next time I run it!
PhotoDj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 09:38 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
BeeGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Atlanta Ga metro area
Posts: 118
Okay ive been looking at gens. Home depot has a 6500 unit that rents for 80 bucks a day or you can buy iy for $960 with 1850 hours on it. Im gonna try to put some pics on here and somebody maybe can tell me if i can use the gen i have to run the ac
__________________
2012 Ford Lariat F-350 Super Duty
2014 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pack 27 TH
BeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 09:41 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
BeeGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Atlanta Ga metro area
Posts: 118
Here is a pic of my current gen
__________________
2012 Ford Lariat F-350 Super Duty
2014 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pack 27 TH
BeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 09:43 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
BeeGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Atlanta Ga metro area
Posts: 118
A pic Click image for larger version

Name:	1404355381360.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	73.2 KB
ID:	56996
__________________
2012 Ford Lariat F-350 Super Duty
2014 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pack 27 TH
BeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.