Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2014, 05:30 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Advice on 50A power adapter

Last week our campground suffered a bit of , well let's say, small electrical problems and we lost some power to our 30A outlets on our pedestal. Now we can't plug in our Wildwood.

Our only option would be to try and use a 50 to 30 adapter we found online. Here's the listing FYI

50A Male to 30A Female, RV Adapter

We haven't bought the adapter yet, because we wanted to know if there were any safety hazards to use this cord. From what it looks like you could draw too much power in the rv and cause some problems being hooked up to 50A service.

Am I correct?
Electricalnightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 05:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jtstromsburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Stromsburg, Nebraska
Posts: 1,682
I'd say you should be fine as you most likely have a 30 amp main breaker in your electrical panel too

Sent by me
__________________
Joel and Teresa
2016 Sabre 34TBOK
2006 GMC 3500 CC LB DRW 4X4
jtstromsburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 05:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,839
I am not sure I would plug my trailer back in to that post outlet.

It has problems with 30A what is going to happen with 50A?
__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 05:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Camping Buddys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orlando
Posts: 460
Just get one that it's designated for rv's 50 to 30 will work fine, make sure that the elec current in the pedestal it's correct.
__________________
John, Lilly & the kids.
2013 Surveyor Select SV 305
2011 Toyota Tundra crew max 5.7
https://campingbuddys.shutterfly.com/
Camping Buddys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 06:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,960
I would get a surge protector in addition to the adapter just to protect your TT.
__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 08:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Los Popes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 134
X 2 on the surge protector. If you don't already have one it is a sound investment to protect your rig.
__________________
Bubba & Chiquita + Two Vizslas (Barley and Sophie)
2008 Georgetown 315DS SE LTD
2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Sterling All-Terrain Tow Bar - SMI Stay-In-Play Duo
Do What You Like - Like What You Do!
Los Popes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 08:34 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Chuckinca's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Summerfield, FL
Posts: 377
Need a 50 Amp surge protector - costs more than a 30 amp. Then you should have a 30 amp surge protector to sue when you can use a 30 amp receptacle.

.
__________________
2018 Flagstaff 29KSWS
2008 Ram Laramie 3500 Megacab 4x4 Cummins 6.7L Turbo Diesel
Chuckinca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 08:44 PM   #8
Engineer of Crazy Train
 
ChooChooMan74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 1,585
I use my 30amp when using an adapter. Works fine.

Sent from my Samsung Note 8 Tablet using the FRF Android App!
__________________
TV - 2015 Ram Truck EcoDiesel
TV - 2006 Jeep Liberty Turbo Diesel (Retired to Daily Driver)
TT - 2015 Rockwood Roo 183 (SOLD due to 2 years off work)
Locomotive Engineer
Nights Camping --- 2015 - 19 Camped | Winterized -- 2014 -18
Come read my Camping Blogs
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 09:07 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
B D HOWie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lake Wales
Posts: 279
We have used a 50>30 adapter with a portable 30 amp EMS plugged into the adapter and the MH into the EMS without any issues.
Paul
__________________
Big Dog House On Wheels
2013 Coachmen Freelander 28QB

on 2012 4500 Chevrolet Chassis
Paul
B D HOWie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 09:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 496
WalMart has an almost identical adapter for under $17 in the RV section. Just bought one a few weeks ago.
__________________
2001 Ford F250 7.3l converted to F350 specs
2014 Flagstaff 8528RKWS
2006 model year Border Collie
Mtelkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 11:07 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,000
What was the problem with the 30 amp outlet. Most posts are supplied with two 50 amp hot wires. The 30 amp is the feed one 50 amp wires. The problem you are having with the 30 amp could be caused by the 50 amp service.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 11:26 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
BigTJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 746
Quite buying that cheap Chinese crap from WallyWorld. Get a GOOD quality device that will not heat up and burn out. Materials need to be either brass or silver plated brass to stand up to the demand. A pot metal connector will just cause heartache, not to mention a fire.
__________________
Brenda and John
'14 Ram 3500 MCSB 6.7L HO PullRite 16K S/G, Grey Columbus 320RS Camped '14 - 146 days/'15 - 196 days
USN-EOD(Ret), Master Chief, 30 yrs,
Master Blaster of the Navy
BigTJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 10:06 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTJohn View Post
Quite buying that cheap Chinese crap from WallyWorld. Get a GOOD quality device that will not heat up and burn out. Materials need to be either brass or silver plated brass to stand up to the demand. A pot metal connector will just cause heartache, not to mention a fire.
Does somebody need a hug?:rollback:
__________________
2001 Ford F250 7.3l converted to F350 specs
2014 Flagstaff 8528RKWS
2006 model year Border Collie
Mtelkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 11:50 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tomball, TX
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by caper View Post
What was the problem with the 30 amp outlet. Most posts are supplied with two 50 amp hot wires. The 30 amp is the feed one 50 amp wires. The problem you are having with the 30 amp could be caused by the 50 amp service.
^X2

IF the pedestal has an electric problem killing one of the legs, it is going to do it on the 50amp plug as well. Depending on how it is wired, you may have the same leg feeding the 30 amp dead on the leg that is used on the 50 amp adapter. The only way to know without taking the pedestal apart would be to check continuity with a multi-meter using the adapter in the 50 amp.
__________________
ST Williamson
Current TV:'14 F350 Lariat CrewCab, 4x4 Short Bed SRW Diesel w/ Pullrite 2700 (16K)
Current
Fiver: '15 Puma 295BHSS Anniversary Edition
Past TV: '13 F150 HD Payload SCrew EB, '08 Tundra CrewMax 5.7L, '02 'Burb 5.3L, '97 Dakota 3.9L
Past Trailers: '09 Wildwood LE 27RB, '02 Palomino Yearling RL, '87 Jayco 1006dlx
campingwilliamsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 12:19 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 42
Are all the pedestals in the campground affected or just yours? If it's just yours I'd move to another site.
__________________
Jack and Laurel
Years married - 46, years camping together - 47
Two 70 lb lapdogs, Ollie and Shadow
TV - 2015 Silverado 2500 HD Allison/Duramax Diesel 4WD
TT - 2014 Rockwood Windjammer 2618
Texbahrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 12:50 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 909
I'm pretty sure the 50amp to 30 Amp adapter does not do anything to limit the power other than using only one of the hot legs feeding the 50 amp receptacle. But since the 50 amp breaker is "usually" 2 pole, it will take 50 amps to pop it. That said, as long as you have a 30 amp main in your converter you will be ok.
__________________
Cathy & Jeff
Midland, Michigan
2020 Cedar Creek 34IK / 2019 Ram3500 CID
SimchaSabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 04:52 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,361
I plug into 50 amp all the time with a dog bone and then use my 30amp ems to my trailer. Your 30 amp breaker in the trailer will trip if you start to use to many amps. I have never had a problem. Most used outlet in a box is 30 amp and they get loose from people pulling plugs out. If I find that I use the 50 amp or move to a new site. I also agree with Big John on his post cheapest is not always the best way to go.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 07:16 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
BigTJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 746
And yes, I do need a hug. The most used outlet has two things going for it:
1 It gets loose over time because of the use it gets.
2 It stays cleaner/shinier so better conductivity because of the use. Then there is the problem of the better electrical connection and the looseness of the mechanical connection results in arcing making the contact areas dirty... You get the whole circle of death thing going on with this - bottom line, use the 50 amp outlet with quality dogbone and carry on.
__________________
Brenda and John
'14 Ram 3500 MCSB 6.7L HO PullRite 16K S/G, Grey Columbus 320RS Camped '14 - 146 days/'15 - 196 days
USN-EOD(Ret), Master Chief, 30 yrs,
Master Blaster of the Navy
BigTJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 07:39 AM   #19
Somewhat right of center
 
Crabbyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 264
Bigtjohn, can you recommend a good USA made Dogbone? Everywhere I look, they're all made overseas.
__________________
2014 Crusader 260RLD Champagne Touring Edition
2013 Silverado 2500 6.0 HD
Crabbyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 07:47 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
jonrjen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabbyguy View Post
Bigtjohn, can you recommend a good USA made Dogbone? Everywhere I look, they're all made overseas.
Kind of like finding ST tires made in America. You can buy the tires with the name of an American tire company on the side of the tire, but the tire itself will be make over seas.

Or paying big dollars for a BMW made in Alabama. Nothing can be taken of country of origin face value anymore.
__________________
2018 Berkshire XL 40B

Past RVs: National Pacifica 40', Kenworth T300 Toterhome, Jayco Class C 32'. American Eagle 40',
American Eagle 40', Bounder 38' tag axle
jonrjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.