Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2015, 05:08 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 145
Another EMS HW30C Install thread

Hello,

I know there are several threads about installing the EMS power manager but I had some specific questions about my set up. See the attached pictures for reference.

First, rather than disconnecting the incoming AC line from the power panel, can I just cut it and splice the EMS inline? Is there any reason not to do that?

I'm thinking that I might put the EMS in the "cable bay" which is right next to the power panel rather than behind the power panel. I would put a couple of strain reliefs on the cable of course - so I don't yank it out of the EMS when hooking up to the pedestal.

I'm also thinking I should add a battery disconnect on the DC side. As far as I can tell, there is not one anywhere. To disconnect DC power, I have to pull the cable off the battery. Again, can I just cut the red wire behind the panel and splice the disconnect switch in there and mount it to the wall by the panel?

What do you recommend for a disconnect switch?

I think I have a pretty good handle on this but i just wanted to run this by the experts to make sure I'm not overlooking something.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2051.jpg
Views:	194
Size:	363.6 KB
ID:	74343   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2050.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	417.1 KB
ID:	74344  
__________________
2015 268RKS Vibe Xtreme Lite
2012 F-150 EcoSCREW Max Tow
tmhudg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 09:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: greensburg pa
Posts: 347
Experts? He called us what!

Thats a good question, I hard wired mine by splicing the 10 gauge wire coming into trailer. Im sure another member will chime in and have probley already have done this but Im not sure with your set up having different power supply cord than mine.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...30c-78700.html
__________________

2006 Honda Goldwing
2012 Toyota Tundra DC s(sold)
2015 Cherokee Grey wolf 19RR Limited
2017 F150 Super Crew 3.5eb 5.5
bluewoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 09:43 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,327
The instructions from PI suggest that you cut the existing power supply and fit each end into the EMS unit. Depending on where you wish to locate the unit you may not have enough cable length for this to be possible. If so connect the power center end to one side and buy a suitable length to run from the other side of the EMS to the power center.

As far as your 12V DC disconnect switch...most are located close to the battery before any other wiring.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 11:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 2,588
I bought a couple of feet of 10-2. I disconnected the incoming line at the panel, connected that to the line side on the EMS, connected one end of my new wire to the load side of the EMS, and connected the other end to the line side at the panel. That gave me plenty of slack to work with. If I want to take it out if ever selling my trailer, I just connect the original feed line back to the panel.

Sent from my phone using Tapatalk.
__________________
- 2016 Ford F-150 SCrew Lariat RWD MaxTow
- 2020 Rockwood 2507S
chriscowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 07:21 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by chriscowles View Post
I bought a couple of feet of 10-2. I disconnected the incoming line at the panel, connected that to the line side on the EMS, connected one end of my new wire to the load side of the EMS, and connected the other end to the line side at the panel. That gave me plenty of slack to work with. If I want to take it out if ever selling my trailer, I just connect the original feed line back to the panel.

Sent from my phone using Tapatalk.
10-2?? Aren't you missing a wire? Black, White, Green?
__________________
Camped: 2020 (Days/Nights) - 58/49
2019 (D/N):27/20, 2018(D/N):24/17, 2017 (D/N):30/25, 2016 (D/N):32/23

TT: 2020 26' Hemisphere 26BHHL
TV: 2020 GMC 2500HD 4x4
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:54 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
10-2 wire includes a ground wire. There are actually three wires inside. 10-3 wire would have three primary wires and a ground for a total of four wires.
Baddison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:58 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
I pulled the in coming line going into distribution panel out and ran it to incoming side of ems then run the new wire from outgoing side of ems back to the distribution panel.

That way you can work on ems outside of cabinet.
Then when done put it behind distribution panel.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 08:00 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baddison View Post
10-2 wire includes a ground wire. There are actually three wires inside. 10-3 wire would have three primary wires and a ground for a total of four wires.
I was assuming he went with SOW or SJOW (stranded conductors).. If he used romex (house wire - solid conductors) then I get the 10-2... With SOW and SJOW 10-2 would not have included the ground wire...
__________________
Camped: 2020 (Days/Nights) - 58/49
2019 (D/N):27/20, 2018(D/N):24/17, 2017 (D/N):30/25, 2016 (D/N):32/23

TT: 2020 26' Hemisphere 26BHHL
TV: 2020 GMC 2500HD 4x4
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 09:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 2,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by glen1971 View Post
I was assuming he went with SOW or SJOW (stranded conductors).
I used Romex, the same as used by FR.



Sent from my phone using Tapatalk.
__________________
- 2016 Ford F-150 SCrew Lariat RWD MaxTow
- 2020 Rockwood 2507S
chriscowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 12:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 145
Okay, so I like the idea of pulling the power cable from the panel rather than cutting the cable but...

I can't get the cable out of the panel. In the picture, you can see there is a gray strain relief doohickey holding the cable into the back of the panel. There is what looks like a blade that has been pushed down to pinch the cable so it doesn't pull out. How do I release the blade?

I've tried pulling up on it but it doesn't seem to want to budge and I don't want to break it (much). It seems like for this to work, the blade won't want to back out but how do you release it when you want to?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2063.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	288.5 KB
ID:	74598  
__________________
2015 268RKS Vibe Xtreme Lite
2012 F-150 EcoSCREW Max Tow
tmhudg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 12:27 PM   #11
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmhudg View Post
Okay, so I like the idea of pulling the power cable from the panel rather than cutting the cable but...

I can't get the cable out of the panel. In the picture, you can see there is a gray strain relief doohickey holding the cable into the back of the panel. There is what looks like a blade that has been pushed down to pinch the cable so it doesn't pull out. How do I release the blade?

I've tried pulling up on it but it doesn't seem to want to budge and I don't want to break it (much). It seems like for this to work, the blade won't want to back out but how do you release it when you want to?

Thanks
It's a one use connecter.
On the 3 ems units I've installed I've had to break all three to get it out.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 12:35 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 145
Thanks. I was afraid of that... Frustrating.
__________________
2015 268RKS Vibe Xtreme Lite
2012 F-150 EcoSCREW Max Tow
tmhudg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 05:19 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 145
Fell back to plan A - cutting the cable. Pretty straightforward install - aside from the cramped location and balky cables.

Powered everything up and got the E0 code - w00t!

There's something I'm a little confused about however. Once it got through its boot sequence and started delivering power, the amp value never went above 0. I started turning on lights (DC) and the converter (fan) kicked in. As I turned on more and more lights, the voltage dropped from 120 down to 111 but the amps stayed at 0. Is that normal?

I didn't turn on any AC items but I would have thought that the converter would be pulling more than an amp - no?
__________________
2015 268RKS Vibe Xtreme Lite
2012 F-150 EcoSCREW Max Tow
tmhudg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 05:49 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,327
Did you run the power wire through the coil on the load side. I recall that's what senses amps load.


Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 05:51 PM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Monica View Post
Did you run the power wire through the coil on the load side. I recall that's what senses amps load.


Dave
Yep

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 06:36 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 2,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
It's a one use connecter.
That's my experience as well but they're cheap and readily available at any home/hardware store. Just be careful in removing it from the panel so as to not damage the hole in the panel.
__________________
- 2016 Ford F-150 SCrew Lariat RWD MaxTow
- 2020 Rockwood 2507S
chriscowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 06:38 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 2,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Monica View Post
Did you run the power wire through the coil on the load side. I recall that's what senses amps load.
And make sure the arrow is pointing in the right direction. It's engraved in the side of the coil and hard to see, especially in low light conditions.
__________________
- 2016 Ford F-150 SCrew Lariat RWD MaxTow
- 2020 Rockwood 2507S
chriscowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 07:28 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 145
Yeah, I ran the power wire through the sensor. I had the arrow toward the inside (the terminals). I'm not quite sure what the arrow means since it ends up pointing perpendicular to the current flow. Why have an arrow to indicate the side vs. a dot or something. Makes me think I'm missing something...

I guess I'll have a double check tomorrow. Ugh.
__________________
2015 268RKS Vibe Xtreme Lite
2012 F-150 EcoSCREW Max Tow
tmhudg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 07:32 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by chriscowles View Post
That's my experience as well but they're cheap and readily available at any home/hardware store. Just be careful in removing it from the panel so as to not damage the hole in the panel.
I swear I could not find this thing either in the store or online. I know I've seen them before but I don't know what they are called so my google searches for conduit connector or outlet strain relief were not yielding anything useful.

Even if I had found one, I'm not sure how to destroy it gently and not break the panel hole. Anyway, I ended up leaving it in and cutting the cable.
__________________
2015 268RKS Vibe Xtreme Lite
2012 F-150 EcoSCREW Max Tow
tmhudg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 07:36 PM   #20
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmhudg View Post
I swear I could not find this thing either in the store or online. I know I've seen them before but I don't know what they are called so my google searches for conduit connector or outlet strain relief were not yielding anything useful.

Even if I had found one, I'm not sure how to destroy it gently and not break the panel hole. Anyway, I ended up leaving it in and cutting the cable.
2 or 3 items down
http://www.electronicsurplus.com/hardware/strain-relief

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.