Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-22-2014, 11:26 PM   #1

Battery charging - new converter or NOT!

Do I buy a new converter? It seems to me that my batteries should charge up when I plug my trailer into shore power 110/120 Volt 30 amp power. I have not found this to be the case. So I end up pulling out the battery charger and hooking them up to the batteries to get them charged. It is frustrating because I am not an electrical engineer and all I want is a simple way to charge my batteries.

Let me get into some specific. My trailer is a Forest River Wildcat 26ft. My converter is a Parallax 7355. I have read in the "Woodalls RV Handbook" about four different types of converters. (1. Dual Output, 2. Single-output ferro-resonant, 3. Single output switching, 4. Single-output multistage). It goes on to say that "the single-output multi stage converter is by far most advantageous. ... It is a must for the active RVer.". Would you all agree? How do I find our what type mine is? More importantly if I decide I want to upgrade - what are the challenges and costs involved? What solutions are others aware of besides upgrading my converter?
dlongmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:46 AM   #2

Check the DC voltage at the battery when plugged in - you should see about 13.5 volts if the charger is working. Here is a link for troubleshooting the Paralex 7300. http://www.parallaxpower.com/7300/Flowchart7300.pdf

Here is a link from Paralex - they are available for about $300.

http://www.parallaxpower.com/7300/7300pwrcntr.pdf
cadman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:57 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlongmore View Post
Do I buy a new converter?

More importantly if I decide I want to upgrade - what are the challenges and costs involved?