Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-16-2015, 09:30 AM   #1
Old Timer Newbie

Battery Disconnect and Inverter Issues

I'm new to Forest River so I don't know how often this occurs but let's be honest - their documentation sucks. I don't know if there is just a lag in updating but the info that came with my Georgetown 378XL is sorely lacking in almost every aspect. And don't get me started on how useless the dealership Service Dept. is, they keep telling me to find out via this Forum - so here goes.

I need help/info regarding the battery disconnect - how it works and how/when to use what. The toggle switch has Connect on top and Disconnect Coach on the bottom. My documentation doesn't even look the same - it shows Use and Store? I have the following questions and I hope someone has the answers:

1) If I'm in a park connected to the parks power, where should the toggle switch be - Connect or Disconnect.

2) If I'm not in a park, not connected to any power supply, where should the toggle switch be - Connect or Disconnect.

3) If I'm in a park connected to the parks power, are the battery's charges being maintained?

4) Where should the toggle switch be if I am storing - Connect or Disconnect?

Now on to my inverter questions/issues. There is a PROwatt SW Power Inverter interface near the entry steps with and On/Off switch and while no documentation was supplied by Forest River I was able to find the User
Guide on line. This still leaves me with questions.

1) When should it be turned On and when should it be turned Off?

2) In lay terms, what exactly does it do?

Sorry for what may seem simple questions to some of you but we're fairly new at the RV experience and are still learning. Thanks in advance for any help you may be able to provide.
sauce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 10:06 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team