Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-03-2021, 03:13 PM   #1

Battery life

I am new to Rving. Just got a Forest River travel trailer. Came with 1 battery. How long will a fully charged battery run the refrigerator? Frig is electric only. Also, Will adding a second battery increase the use time?
Rick Fredieu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 04:17 PM   #2

Need some more info, what Model or trailer do you have? Others who have similar model can provide more details. You did not say if it was a residential style refrigerator, if yes, not very long.
But need more info before we can give you more details/information
2019 57:2020 20:2021 30:2022 46:2023 47:2024 7
robo44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 04:22 PM   #3

Size of battery is going to matter. One small group 24 battery or one group 8d. Huge difference.

Best way is to do an inventory of items that will be using battery power and for how long.

Once that is a complished and you know how many amp hours are consumed per day then you can determine how large and how many batteries will be required.

To start I would consider a good battery monitor. That is one area where the more you pay the better they are.

A Victron Smart Shunt is a good happy medium of price, durability, features, and accuracy.

This will give you an accurate reading of current draw and battery state of charge. Good data to help size battery bank.

"You only grow old when you run out of new things to do"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2023 f-150 SCREW XLT 3.5 Ecoboost (The result of a $68,000 oil change)
TitanMike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 04:33 PM   #4