Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-10-2017, 02:32 PM   #1

Battery not charging, may need new converter what to look for?

Long story short, I've had my trailer for about 2 years and never had a problem till now. For some reason, my battery isn't charging when plugged into my outlets at the house. I'm a complete noob when it comes to electricity. When I plug in my trailer to an outlet at home, I get power, ie lights etc. work, but my battery isn't charging. This is the first time it's happened, as before our last trip in June, my battery charged just fine. I've checked the 40 amp fuses at my panel, and they both look ok, which leads me to believe I need a new converter. What do I need to look for when replacing it? Are they all pretty much the same? Size/dimension wise, do units all fit the same? Which amps should I get etc? We're leaving on a trip Friday, is this a relatively easy job? Thanks.

Not sure if this helps, but a buddy has a portable charger he hooked up to my battery and was able to charge it.

2014 Rockwood Roo 233s
thestrangebrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 03:05 PM   #2
Site Team

Check the resettable breaker on the tongue. ( see below). Pull the two 40A fuses and test them it can be hard to determine if they are good in while in the panel If you need to replace the converter most are the same footprint. I suggest Progressive as they do a better job.
Attached Images

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 03:15 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flybob View Post