Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2016, 08:29 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 18
Can I/Should I ground my generator?

I have a Honda EU 1000 I generator. We just bought a coaching clipper 17FQ. We expect to do a lot of boondocking, so we upgraded the batteries to 2 Trojan 145 batts. As I understand it, the 110 outlets in the trailer will operate only on shore power or when the generator is plugged in.

My surge protector, when plugged into the generator, shows an open ground. There is a grounding screw on the front of the generator panel, or at least what I think looks like a grounding screw.

Should I ground the generator when operating out in a dry camping environment? If so, I would be very grateful for your advice on how to do that correctly.

Many thanks from a complete rookie.

Hal
hbidlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 08:39 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
rsdata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 4,582
If you are only using portable cords plugged into the generator you need to do nothing. Sticking a ground rod into the dirt will not add any safety measure.
__________________
"nothing can now be believed which is seen in a newspaper. Truth itself becomes suspicious by being put into that polluted vehicle."
Thomas Jefferson to John Norvell pg. 2, June 11, 1807

2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4 TST TPMS
rsdata is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 08:43 AM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Can I/Should I ground my generator?

You need to make a neutral bonded plug.
Then you'll plug it into one of the outlets.



2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 08:45 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 8,837
Not sure why you would be seeing an open most generators make a complete circuit. The grounding lug is used when two generators are hooked in parallel Why are you running a surge protector with your generator I doubt you could get a surge large enough to cause any problems before the generator would trip.
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab) 10/04 - 05/20
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 08:48 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
You need to make a neutral bonded plug.
Then you'll plug it into one of the outlets.



2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
That will trick the surge protector to think the generator is grounded. Some surge protectors are hardwired inside the RV.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 09:08 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,733
I like my surge protector inline when I run two Hondas because when one runs out of gas with the AC on the S/P shuts down because of the low voltage.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 12:15 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Rick_Geneseo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 148
The reason to ground a generator is to discharge static. I seem to remember every Army generator came with 3-3foot ground rod sections and to complete the ground for whatever you were powering.
Rick_Geneseo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 12:16 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Grounding the generator to the earth will not fix his issue.
Only a neutral bonded plug will.


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 12:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,583
Agree with Turbs. The surge protector is not sensing the ground or neutral. It is sensing that there is no voltage between the hot and ground and assuming that is an open ground since if your were plugged into your house or a power pedestal there would be 120 volts between the hot and neutral and between the hot and ground. RVs do not connect the two for reasons that have been stated in this thread numerous times.

Make a plug like Turbs has indicated and it should solve your problem. In either case it won't hurt anything. Just plug it into one of the duplex outlets (with the cover in place on the plug...of course.)
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 01:29 PM   #10
Blog: RVroadtripper.com
 
hbillsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Near Dallas Texas
Posts: 994
Link to article explaining how to build the adapter plug
__________________
2016 Wildcat 295RSX - 2015 GMC 2500HD DblCab Duramax/Allison 4x4 Z71 6.6' Bed
Maxxis 235/80/16E; AirBags w/AirLift1; mor/Ryde Rubber Pinbox; Andersen UltimateII Alum. 5erhitch on Reese Flipball w/Curt 4" offset; LCI Ground Control3; King Dishtailgater; Traveling with 10' Portabote;
hbillsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 02:05 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
WolfWhistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,275
X10 on the cheater plug. 1) the ground will usually be too high (in ohms) to he of any value.
2) it will not offer more personal safety, if anything it will be worse.
3) the only situation where a generator must be grounded is when it feeds a building (per the NEC)

I would not bother to use my EMS on genset, but if you insist make and usevthe "plug". I would plug it in at the genset: not to any 'ole outlet.
WW
__________________
Hyper Lite was sold

2017 F-250 4x4 6.2L Gas
I can't fix everything, but I can make it so nobody else can
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 05:24 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Generator ground

I purchased a EMS PROGRESSIVE
GENERATOR PLUG TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM...
Louisiana Irishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 06:14 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 361
Much simpler to take your surge/open ground/neutral off line. If you use/forget and use the same plug with neutral and ground tied together on/in a defective post and touch the aluminum siding not good. Some generators have a frame ground that can be tied to the TT and 4 foot rod driven into the ground - too much work, take the surge protector off line (AC may drop the the low voltage trip anyhow).
__________________
DJsFolly
D. J. Schuler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 05:52 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 18
As a follow-up, I finally had a chance to hook my Honda 1000 generator up to my coachman clipper. The interior outlets ran just fine off of the generator. So it looks like the ground issue doesn't affect me in terms of being able to power the 110 things inside the clipper.
hbidlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 05:54 PM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbidlack View Post
As a follow-up, I finally had a chance to hook my Honda 1000 generator up to my coachman clipper. The interior outlets ran just fine off of the generator. So it looks like the ground issue doesn't affect me in terms of being able to power the 110 things inside the clipper.


You must not have a progressive industries unit?
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 05:57 PM   #16
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 12,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick_Geneseo View Post
The reason to ground a generator is to discharge static. I seem to remember every Army generator came with 3-3foot ground rod sections and to complete the ground for whatever you were powering.
Yes but only when they were new. After the first usage, the ground rod was gone. There must be thousands of ground rods in the ground all around the world.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 09:06 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
WolfWhistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,275
We used to drive the rods... which if in sand read nearly infinity for ground; but if in hard dirt we would couldn't get them very deep.. So we cut them off. Naturally we couldn't get the out so they were left.
WW
__________________
Hyper Lite was sold

2017 F-250 4x4 6.2L Gas
I can't fix everything, but I can make it so nobody else can
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 PM.