Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2024, 09:12 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 4
Converter issue?

2020 Palomino Solaire 240BHS

I am having an issue with plugging Shore power into the trailer. I am popping the breaker on the home, not at all in the trailer. I have a dedicated 30amp plug in for our camper that is less than a year old.

After troubleshooting, I am finding that it trips the home breaker every time I switch the converter breaker on in the trailer. It will trip every time regardless if all trailer breakers are on or ONLY the converter breaker.

Things I have tried:

Checked to make sure 30amp is wired to 120v, not 240v

I've checked my shore power cable, it is ok

I have disconnected the converter power source from the it's trailer breaker to test the breaker, it's worked fine and help power

I put power back to the converter and disconnected the red/white feed cables taking it to the 12v side of the circuit board. Converter powers on and does not trip breaker.

I have removed every 15amp fuse on the 12v side, put power to the converter and one by one, placed the fuses back into necessary spots, this will not trip the house breaker and works fine.

Can converters go bad and loose there "oompf" when powering up? I feel like it is a load issue but of a specific circuit was the issue shouldn't it of popped the breaker when I placed the fuses 1 by 1?

Thanks!!
justing44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 09:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 2,453
The trailer has a 30 amp MAIN breaker. The converter has either a 15 amp or 20 amp breaker. I do not read where the 15 amp or 20 amp breaker is tripping. Nor do I read where the 30 amp MAIN breaker in the trailer is tripping.

So the 30 amp breaker in the house is tripping. This to me points to the 30 amp breaker being faulty in the house panel.

You did a good test by removing the fuses, powering up the trailer, and then putting the fuses in one by one. The house breaker did not trip. Now, try the microwave or the AC. If the house breaker trips, I'd suspect the house breaker is defective.

Final thought, is there anything else on the 30 amp house breaker? If so, then the start-up surge of the converter is exceeding the capacity of the house breaker if it is shared. The RV 30 amp breaker at the house should be a dedicated service and shared by nothing else.

Bob
Bob K4TAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 09:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Posts: 465
Almost sounds like a ground fault, or neutral / ground, bonding issue.

Does it trip if you plug it into a regular 15 / 20 amp, household receptacle? That could rule in, or out, your new 30 amp.

As far as I know, most TTs are NOT neutral ground, bonded. You could check in your panel box.

IF your 30 amp outlet is on a GFI breaker, that could be causing the issue.
__________________
2024 Surveyor 252RBLE
2023 F150 Powerboost 7.2KW 4x4 1658PL with a WeighSafe WDH
DJ252 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 09:43 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 4
Hey Bob thanks for the reply, sorry I knew it was gonna be tricky to differentiate the breakers

I am tripping my 30amp breaker on my residential home. It is it's own dedicated breaker outside, it is not tied to my 200amp panel in the home.

As for in the trailer. This issue never pops a breaker in the trailer. Doesn't matter if all breakers are on, or just my trailer main with everything else off initially, the moment I switch the converter breaker to ON, it trips the 30amp breaker on my house.
justing44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 03:16 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2023
Posts: 224
Sounds like they installed a GFCI 30 amp outlet.

Does your outside home outlet have test/reset buttons on it ? If it does, that may not work for you and is not required for RV outlets.

If it worked in the past, something may have gone wrong in your converter, causing the ground fault.

Some RV panels combine the fridge with the converter circuit. Try unplugging the fridge to see if that clears the tripping.
Twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 05:45 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 899
Quote:
Originally Posted by justing44 View Post
Hey Bob thanks for the reply, sorry I knew it was gonna be tricky to differentiate the breakers

I am tripping my 30amp breaker on my residential home. It is it's own dedicated breaker outside, it is not tied to my 200amp panel in the home.

As for in the trailer. This issue never pops a breaker in the trailer. Doesn't matter if all breakers are on, or just my trailer main with everything else off initially, the moment I switch the converter breaker to ON, it trips the 30amp breaker on my house.
Where does the 30 amp breaker at your house get its power from, if not from the panel at your house?
Have you tried powering up your trailer from a separate 15 amp regular receptacle? This would see if the issue follows the trailer or stays with the 30 amp receptacle.
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 07:13 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
PhilFromMaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob K4TAX View Post
The trailer has a 30 amp MAIN breaker. The converter has either a 15 amp or 20 amp breaker. I do not read where the 15 amp or 20 amp breaker is tripping. Nor do I read where the 30 amp MAIN breaker in the trailer is tripping.

So the 30 amp breaker in the house is tripping. This to me points to the 30 amp breaker being faulty in the house panel.

You did a good test by removing the fuses, powering up the trailer, and then putting the fuses in one by one. The house breaker did not trip. Now, try the microwave or the AC. If the house breaker trips, I'd suspect the house breaker is defective.

Final thought, is there anything else on the 30 amp house breaker? If so, then the start-up surge of the converter is exceeding the capacity of the house breaker if it is shared. The RV 30 amp breaker at the house should be a dedicated service and shared by nothing else.

Bob
Excellent point. Is the 30 amp circuit breaker in the house a dedicated RV circuit or is it shared with other household devices? Also Breakers do fail and (or) wear out, but this is not common especially on a newer install.

Run a wire from another circuit in the house to the RV and see if that works. If that doesn't work, then the issue is obviously in the RV.

Converters fail all the time. From what you said, it appears that the converter is what is failing, but as Bob said, isolate the converter and turn on other high draw devices and see what happens.
__________________
2018 Coachmen Freedom Express Liberty Edition 231RBDSLE
PhilFromMaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 07:34 AM   #8
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 34,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twinboat View Post
Sounds like they installed a GFCI 30 amp outlet.

.

I have not ever seen a GFCI NEMA TT-30 outlet, but that does not mean they do not make such.

I would lean more to the actual circuit breaker being the GFCI type, which is becoming more commonplace. The leakage from the converter could be causing a gfci type circuit breaker to trip. Our resident electrical guru, Mike Sokol, has an excellent article on gfci's and leakage located here:


https://rvelectricity.substack.com/p...0-gfci-testing



https://www.homedepot.com/p/Square-D...353302#overlay


Can the OP please post a pic of this circuit breaker that is tripping.

Also has this outlet ever worked properly before or is this a new install?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

History Mystery #107: Why are marshmallow circus peanuts orange in color, but banana in taste?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 08:20 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Oaklevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by justing44 View Post
Hey Bob thanks for the reply, sorry I knew it was gonna be tricky to differentiate the breakers

I am tripping my 30amp breaker on my residential home. It is it's own dedicated breaker outside, it is not tied to my 200amp panel in the home.

As for in the trailer. This issue never pops a breaker in the trailer. Doesn't matter if all breakers are on, or just my trailer main with everything else off initially, the moment I switch the converter breaker to ON, it trips the 30amp breaker on my house.
If it is not tied to your 200A panel does it have its own meter?? or do you have another metered panel in the garage??

Would like to see pictures of your set up.

There are 4 metered panels on the property we live on. You can bet the power company is not going to give out free power.
__________________

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2017 Wildwood Lodge 4092 BFL
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxer Mix
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 08:24 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Chuck_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 4,630
Converter problem? How is this the problem? All the converter does is provide 12vDC for the lights and stuff. Has nothing to do with the 120vAC systems in the trailer.

Daisy chained GFCIs are often a problem but they also have nothing to do with the 12vDC systems or the converter.

-- Chuck
__________________
2006 Roo 23SS behind a 2017 Ford Expedition
Chuck_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 08:26 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Tarpon Springs FL
Posts: 3,701
did it ever work when you connected to your house?
__________________
Tarpon Springs FL
2022 Salem 24RLXL
Aussieguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 09:08 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 4
Thanks for all the comments!

So backstory here:

So we moved a little over a year ago where we had been camping out of an Ice Castle RV Edition fish house. Always just plugged that into an ordinary 120v outlet in our old garage, never an issue.

Forward to now, we sold the Ice Castle to help with the move. Now that we are situated we bought this trailer. I brought it home end of September 2023. Tried plugging it into a garage outlet, and this popped the house breaker inside at the panel. This circuit had a GFCI outlet wired in it. I ran extension cords into the house and tried other outlets and would also pop that breaker. Through some online searches I found that it was kind of a known issue this could happen. I ran out of time before we had to get it into our storage facility for the winter.

A month ago I had a 30amp RV outlet installed on the side of our garage. If GFCI was the issue with plugging into the house, why not have its own power. Brought the trailer home from storage last week, tried plugging it in, and it also popped this new dedicated outlet at the house.

Nothing has ever tripped a breaker inside of the travel trailer, it ALWAYS trips at the house.

I will post a picture of this new RV outlet set up this afternoon when I get home from work. I know there is not a "test" button on the outlet itself, but since someone brought it up, I am pretty sure the actual breaker has a test button. This breaker is installed on the outside of the house at the service panel. The electrician called it a "farm panel". It has a breaker for the main service into the house, a power surge, and a breaker for the RV outlet.
justing44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 09:26 AM   #13
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 34,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by justing44 View Post

I will post a picture of this new RV outlet set up this afternoon when I get home from work. I know there is not a "test" button on the outlet itself, but since someone brought it up, I am pretty sure the actual breaker has a test button. This breaker is installed on the outside of the house at the service panel. The electrician called it a "farm panel". It has a breaker for the main service into the house, a power surge, and a breaker for the RV outlet.
That was me. If you will read that article I linked you to from Mike Sokol, he will explain how to test for current leakage. You may find out that converter is leaking a little too much, thus tripping any gfci upstream of the RV.

We will await your pics and go from there. Thanks
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

History Mystery #107: Why are marshmallow circus peanuts orange in color, but banana in taste?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 01:47 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 4
Photos of outside panel, breakers, and outlet
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20240416_134058.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	416.3 KB
ID:	298759   Click image for larger version

Name:	20240416_134023.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	338.8 KB
ID:	298760   Click image for larger version

Name:	20240416_133915.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	272.5 KB
ID:	298761  
justing44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 01:56 PM   #15
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 34,172
Yep, it's showing you have a single pole GFCI 30 amp circuit breaker.

I would advise reading the link I sent and seeing if you can detect the leakage from your converter.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

History Mystery #107: Why are marshmallow circus peanuts orange in color, but banana in taste?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 04:03 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
PhilFromMaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,603
Apparently after 2020 the NEC said that 30 amp receptacles like this one needed to be GFCI protected. I see the word "TEST" on the breaker so I assume that is for a GFCI.

I think if the OP just ran a extension cord from a non- GFCI receptacle from inside the home to the camper that would answer the question whether or not there was leakage in the converter. If the converter runs okay with a non-GFCI breaker, then there is most likely unacceptable leakage in the converter that causes the new receptacle to trip. Therefore, replace the converter.
__________________
2018 Coachmen Freedom Express Liberty Edition 231RBDSLE
PhilFromMaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 06:15 PM   #17
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 34,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilFromMaine View Post
Apparently after 2020 the NEC said that 30 amp receptacles like this one needed to be GFCI protected. I see the word "TEST" on the breaker so I assume that is for a GFCI.
They were going to make all the 30 and 50 amp receptacles be GFCI, but backed off due partly to this exact same thing with nuisance tripping and current leakage from stuff in a RV. I have posted a few articles on this. Let me see if I can find them and will edit this post.


Here you go:


https://www.forestriverforums.com/fo...ml#post2537945


https://www.forestriverforums.com/fo...ml#post2888398
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

History Mystery #107: Why are marshmallow circus peanuts orange in color, but banana in taste?
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 07:43 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Tarpon Springs FL
Posts: 3,701
testing with a extension cord

make sure everything 120v is OFF including the water heater
some models have 120v a switch OUTSIDE in the water heater panel

water heater and converter on at the same time can easily be enough current to trip a
15amp breaker
-------------------------------------------------------

after testing
if it does not pop the 20amp ......... but the 30 amp trips
I would assume it is the GFCI in the 30amp as others mentioned

If you paid someone to install the 30amp... I'd be asking them why it is not working?
__________________
Tarpon Springs FL
2022 Salem 24RLXL
Aussieguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2024, 07:26 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
PhilFromMaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
They were going to make all the 30 and 50 amp receptacles be GFCI, but backed off due partly to this exact same thing with nuisance tripping and current leakage from stuff in a RV. I have posted a few articles on this. Let me see if I can find them and will edit this post.


Here you go:


https://www.forestriverforums.com/fo...ml#post2537945


https://www.forestriverforums.com/fo...ml#post2888398
Thank you Bobby. The article I read stated that the exception for GFCI 30 and 50 amp receptacles was for campground pedestals only. If it is a home installation, it has to be GFCI protected as apparently the OPs receptacle is.

However, my source article was secondary and not directly from the NEC.
__________________
2018 Coachmen Freedom Express Liberty Edition 231RBDSLE
PhilFromMaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2024, 08:21 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 722
I had the same issue.
Do yourself a favor an unplug the water heater AT THE WATER HEATER.
Throwing the breaker for it is not enough.
I found that was the problem. The water heater element had a tiny micro crack in it, and the new one was less than $20 and solved the problem.
__________________
2019 F150 HDPP 4X4 3.5. 2500lb payload.
2018 Rockwood 2506
Half Ton Heavy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.