Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2020, 04:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 1
Cummins Onan 5500 Generator

Hi, new poster but have been reading the forum for two years. In August of 2019 we ordered and picked up our 2019 Cardinal 3950. We are very satisfied with the product and with the warranty service we received during the first year of ownership.

Last summer, while under warranty, I decided to see if my 5500 generator would run both AC's. It would only run one at a time. One cycles off while the other runs. I saw a post on this forum from "changing it up a bit," in which he identified the problem. Apparently, the factory had not run a 12 gauge sensing wire which would allow the generator to operate at its full capacity. I contacted Anita Carpenter who replied that the factory had wired the unit according to the manufacture's specifications and therefore they were not willing to provide a "fix."

If "changing up a bit" would follow up on this post and even contact me directly I would be very appreciative. I don't know how to contact him. I am very interested to learn how I can fix this situation.
Don and Kris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 08:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
GFAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Rougemont
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don and Kris View Post
Hi, new poster but have been reading the forum for two years. In August of 2019 we ordered and picked up our 2019 Cardinal 3950. We are very satisfied with the product and with the warranty service we received during the first year of ownership.



Last summer, while under warranty, I decided to see if my 5500 generator would run both AC's. It would only run one at a time. One cycles off while the other runs. I saw a post on this forum from "changing it up a bit," in which he identified the problem. Apparently, the factory had not run a 12 gauge sensing wire which would allow the generator to operate at its full capacity. I contacted Anita Carpenter who replied that the factory had wired the unit according to the manufacture's specifications and therefore they were not willing to provide a "fix."



If "changing up a bit" would follow up on this post and even contact me directly I would be very appreciative. I don't know how to contact him. I am very interested to learn how I can fix this situation.


Was this put in at factory? Or at dealer? I had somewhat the same problem! The hour meter wire was not hooked up! I was only getting half of generator output! The power load showed me this!
GFAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
500, generator, onan

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.