Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-23-2016, 11:20 PM   #1

DC Power Issue understanding

To start, I have a Rockwood 8289WS fifth wheel. I took out the single 12 volt battery and instlled 2 6 volt Trojans in series (240 AH).

Everything has been fine until this extended trip my CO/Propane alarm started sounding the alarm when my furnace was running. Very scary! I looked at the details however and the alarm signal of Red-Green-Red-Green... Indicates a low voltage default (not CO or Propane detection). I got to thinking and I have a new DC power supply for my CPAP. I realized the alarm is going off only when I am using the CPAP and the furnace at the same time. Sure enough I slept without my CPAP last night while boondocking, used the furnace and no problems.

I am an amateur electrician but I was surprised my voltage is dropping that low. Batteries are fully charged. I would love to post the voltage coming off but I am having problems with my multi-meter and on the road. Everything is working perfectly fine with the exception of this situation.

I am looking for your thoughts on how I can improve my voltage situation. The first thing that occurred to me was the cables. I noticed when I put in the dual 6 volts the cables installed by OEM were tiny. Not sure what guage but I used a 2 guage to connect the two batteries together and it is many times thicker than the OEM cables (which I did continue to use on the new batteries for ground and positive feed). Would lower guage cables reduce voltage loss likely correcting my problem?

Thanks for your thoughts.

----------------------------
2015 Rockwood 8289WS
2009 Ford F-250
Appalachian Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 11:26 PM   #2

How do you know your batteries are fully charged?