Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-20-2020, 01:52 PM   #1

DC power melting lighting wires

Good Afternoon -
first time poster...please be gentle...ha.

I purchased a 2007 Rockwood Premier 2514G last week from another owner and have been doing some maintenance on it. The first night I had it, I used the DC overhead lights and they began to dim when I'd turn on more than one...converter (WFCO WF-8725-P) would kick in as well when more than one was turned on....then they flickered and I could smell something melting. The lighting wiring connection at the ceiling had melted at the connectors...lights stopped working at that point.

I am not an electrical expert or a camper expert so I'm just getting up to speed with how this whole thing functions...I think I get the basics as of now....I am an engineer, but not that kind!

I checked and then replaced the main 7 year old 12v battery which I was told by a battery shop was bad....I then checked all the fuses and brushed off the connections at the battery. I reconnected the melted connections and tried the lighting again...the lighting works again but I could tell the connection was getting too hot and the lights were dimming and converter coming on when I turned more than one overhead DC light on.

the overhead fan, water pump and radio work fine.

After researching further I'm reading things like it could be:
1) the old incandescent bulbs...one or more might be bad?
2) something to do with the grounding of the system...I'm not sure if the lighting is grounded separately from the other DC items? or where to find it.
3) Bad converter...but why is everything else working? I thought power for the DC when plugged in, still came from the 12v battery? or does it literally get converted at the converter and pushed out (I think the wiring overheating happens regardless of on DC or AC power).