Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-31-2015, 02:10 PM   #1

Electrical Shorting out and tripping house Breakers

This has me stumped. First off, let me explain up front that I am new to this TT world and so I am on a fast track of learning. I purchased a 2006 Sierra Toyhauler 26fbsp used from a dealer. Trailer is 30 amp out to house. It has a twist lock power cable which I have plugged into the trailer and connected a "beefy" extension cord and 110 adapter to plug into my home. POP, the Circuit trips at my house. Try another outlet different circuit, POP same thing. Different extention cable. Same result. Different 110 adapter. Same result. Take it back to dealer, use his outlet my cables, same issue. Use his cable (he has the ground cut off his extention cable) does not trip. I go back to my house and use a 3-2 prong adapter, circuit does not pop... WHAT??
Go down to Home D. and ask some questions. They stated it is because of one of two issues:

1) Trailer is not grounded properly causing an short. If this is the case, I have no clue where to start looking.
2) The ground and Common in my house breaker are connected which could be tripping the circuit when plugged into my trailer. which also points to a possible issue with the ground on my trailer.

What am I doing wrong??

Details to help reduce thread churn...
1) Trailer has two 6 volt batteries
2) The circuit trips at the house with the battery bypass in the on and off position
3) I am not a professional electrician nor an experienced TT person, but with enough detail and a follow-up question, I can answer or do what is described
4) the house circuits are 15 amp
5) My spelling skills are horrible so please excuse any brevity in my posts...
nexcompac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 02:28 PM   #2
Site Team