Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-21-2013, 10:52 AM   #1

Extension Cord for Charging

I am new to this and I am looking at buying an extension cord to use to plug up my TT ( 30 Amp Service) to charge while stored at the back of my lot. I will need a 100FT cord to have enough to get to the outlet on my back deck. My question is should I get a 12 or 10 gauge extension cord? As I said this is for charging purposes and not intended to run the AC, Microwave, etc...

Thanks,
JBurley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 11:15 AM   #2

If it is just for charging then 12 should be adequate. But if it were me I would go with the 10 just because extra capacity is always a good thing and 100 ft is a long run. Home Depot carries a 100 ft Ridgid orange extension cord that is very rugged and flexible. Not inexpensive but worth the cost.
DSurette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 05:43 PM   #3

Battery died by sitting for about three weeks. When I get the extension cord how long should I let it charge?
Old 11-21-2013, 05:55 PM   #4

if all you are doing is charging batteries a 16 ga. cord is adequit. if you intend to do much else while in that location, go bigger.

the model of your converter will greatly determine charge time, and whether or not you need to manage the power source.

what converter do you have?

2008 Sabre 31BHDS now a triple axle

Stub-KB-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 05:57 PM   #5

Parasitic drain, they kill batteries.

How long depends on your charger.
Old 11-21-2013, 06:09 PM   #6

Make sure you have a 115v 30amp service receptacle and not plug it into a 220v dryer/stove receptacle.
Trevor43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 06:23 PM   #7