Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2016, 01:59 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 862
Fan Delay Relay for Coleman Mach

Does anyone have link to purchase a fan delay relay and also instructions on installation wiring. (I see mention of it but haven't been successful in a search) Also can the relay control the condenser and evaporator fans? Thanks in advance.
__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 05:50 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,365
Too Tall, Check out Granger. They will have a delay. You can delay the evap fan on start up. More then likely your going to have a double shafted motor in the unit. You only need to delay it long enough to get your compressor out of the start winding, we are talking seconds here not minutes. You would be better off to install a hard start cap on the compressor to pop it out of the start. If that is what your trying to do. That's where your amps will go up the most. The fan is not much at all. Just my opinion.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 06:57 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 4,073
Here is one thread....

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...mod-20541.html
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 09:48 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
That's it✌️


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 09:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
Too Tall, Check out Granger. They will have a delay. You can delay the evap fan on start up. More then likely your going to have a double shafted motor in the unit. You only need to delay it long enough to get your compressor out of the start winding, we are talking seconds here not minutes. You would be better off to install a hard start cap on the compressor to pop it out of the start. If that is what your trying to do. That's where your amps will go up the most. The fan is not much at all. Just my opinion.
Thanks, I'd like to install the hard start also but delay the fan motor until the compressor cranks. I think I can save about 4 to 5 amps startup load if I wait and start the fan after the compressor. Double shaft, yes I think you are right on that, thanks.
__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 10:34 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
A/c fan draws 6 amps on a cool day


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 11:29 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 862
Anyone have a schematic of how the time delay is wired using 12v? I'm think I would wire it to the low fan only. What's the 120 v wire what it says to cut? Also, the spec say, 18 to 120v. Will it work with 12? Thanks.
__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 11:34 AM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Fan Delay Relay for Coleman Mach

That's what you delay is the fan.
Open up your thermostat and see which wire is your fan power then go to a/c unit and install the delay in that wire.

I wouldn't just delay the low.

If that's truly what you want to do then again open your thermostat and see what your low fan speed wire is, then go to your a/c unit and delay that wire.

Problem is you always have to have fan on low when starting a/c


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 12:19 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 862
Yea, your right, hi and low would be better to delay. Wouldn't you need two of these delays to do both high and low? One for each wire?
__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 12:24 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Fan Delay Relay for Coleman Mach

Quote:
Originally Posted by Too Tall View Post
Yea, your right, hi and low would be better to delay. Wouldn't you need two of these delays to do both high and low? One for each wire?

No, only one delay is needed.
In your thermostat is a high and fan wire.
The fan wire is the one you want, mine happened to be red.



2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 01:19 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 862
Thanks Turb, I'll take a look, did you mount the delay in the ceiling or at the thermostat.?

Also, Were the heck is the relays for the fan and compressor? My schematic doesn't show a relay.
__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 01:21 PM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
I mounted it in the a/c unit.



2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 01:30 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 862
Thanks, that's what I was planning although my thermostat is different than yours but I can figure that out. My old mind just is not working very fast these days.
__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 05:08 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 126
I. used a,
Packard PTD102 Delay on Make Timer Relay TD69 ICM102


you can find them on e-bay and it's very easy to install.
danc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 07:11 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 862
Thanks Danc,

I don't know if those will work on my system as it is a 12 v DC thermostat. I called ICM and they said it was designed for 24 volt AC system. The only one I could find that is designed to work with DC 12 was the Dayton. Considerably more money than the ICM however.

Dayton Encapsulated Timer Relay, 1A, Solid State 2A562 | Zoro.com
__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 07:33 PM   #16
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Fan Delay Relay for Coleman Mach

The one listed on my thread works fine.
My unit is 12 v as well as everyone else's that installed the module.
Cut the fan wire put a female spade on both ends and plug into delay box.
Set timer and done.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 07:39 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Too Tall View Post
Thanks Danc,

I don't know if those will work on my system as it is a 12 v DC thermostat. I called ICM and they said it was designed for 24 volt AC system. The only one I could find that is designed to work with DC 12 was the Dayton. Considerably more money than the ICM however.

Dayton Encapsulated Timer Relay, 1A, Solid State 2A562 | Zoro.com
Too Tall,

I used this same one on my micro lite and it works fine... mine is 12v as well. For around 10 bucks it may be worth a try. I think it would work for what you want to do.
danc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 08:04 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 862
Thanks guys, I'm probably too anal.

Have any of you installed a hard start capacitor and if so, did you see any benefit?

thanks in advance
__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 08:29 PM   #19
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
I did, but really didn't notice a difference.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:38 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Too Tall View Post
Thanks guys, I'm probably too anal.

Have any of you installed a hard start capacitor and if so, did you see any benefit?

thanks in advance
I did and it made a noticeable difference starting my a/c with my gen.
danc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fan

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.