Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2014, 08:02 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
iowaborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to iowaborn
Fireplace shuts off when using microwave

No real question here, unless someone has already experienced this and found a fix. This phenomenon just came to light during the Smokie Mountain Jamboree Rally, because it was the first time this replacement fireplace was used. The fireplace works just fine, but if the microwave is started, something trips in the fireplace circuitry and it shuts off. It acts like a over temperature sensor cause it takes some time before it will work again. The fireplace is supposed to be on its own breaker and no breakers trip so this problem will take a little effort to troubleshoot. One more thing to do when we get home.
__________________
2013 F-250 CrewCab 6.7 PowerStroke 4X4
2017 Silverback 33RK
iowaborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 08:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
davel1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seaford, De
Posts: 2,377
didn't happen with last fireplace? Same fireplace make/model?
__________________
David & Lynn
2014 Coachmen Chaparral Signature 327 RLKS
2016 Ford F350 Lariat CC Dually
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 02:00 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
heavynlori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,426
Our Laredo was set up with a kill switch to disable the microwave when using fireplace....kind of annoying but it was only 30amp setup

Switch was on wall right next to fireplace so you could not forget

New Crusader has 50amp and we can use everything at same time now - still have to get used to not thinking about that switch


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
heavynlori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 06:07 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 237
My 2015 Windjammer 3008 is doing the same thing. Going to dealer in a couple of weeks and hope to find out why.
Carrier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 09:17 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 96
probably pulling more load than 30 amps I have to shut off fireplace before starting microwave or fireplace will shut off
__________________
Rockwood 8282 WS
2012 F-250 6.2
farfetched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 02:21 PM   #6
Dazed & Confused
 
M&K Hoffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NW PA
Posts: 368
It is supposed to and the relay that does it is mounted in the space behind the converter. (In a 3008W anyway.) A couple of minutes after the microwave shuts off, you can hear the relay reset with a click. Running both the microwave and the fireplace would put the amp load very near 30 amps and by code a circuit can only be loaded intentionally to 80% continuous load.
__________________
~Mike & Kim~
2014 Rockwood Windjammer 3008W Diamond Package
2012 Toyota Tundra Doublecab 5.7 4WD
M&K Hoffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 11:50 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
JonClark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 174
I have a 2014 320bhds and had same problem. Found out the genius that wired the camper at the factory put the microwave and fireplace on the same circuit.
JonClark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 05:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
iowaborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to iowaborn
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEHoffman View Post
It is supposed to and the relay that does it is mounted in the space behind the converter. (In a 3008W anyway.) A couple of minutes after the microwave shuts off, you can hear the relay reset with a click. Running both the microwave and the fireplace would put the amp load very near 30 amps and by code a circuit can only be loaded intentionally to 80% continuous load.
I guess that makes sense, but I would like to determine how the relay is wired and what it is monitoring because only the fireplace shuts off. The fireplace draws 6 amp on low and the microwave draws 15 amp. If it is monitoring the total draw at the main that is close to 80%. The water heater draws 11 amp so I will have to check what the relay does if the water heater is heating while the microwave is running cause that would be over the allowed 80%.
__________________
2013 F-250 CrewCab 6.7 PowerStroke 4X4
2017 Silverback 33RK
iowaborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 05:44 PM   #9
Dazed & Confused
 
M&K Hoffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NW PA
Posts: 368
I am also "Iowa born" and bred. I use the name Iowachild after this poem on the Tractorbynet.com forum. BTW I am only guessing the code is why they did that, I could be wrong, but the relay is mounted behind my converter and I just had to figure out what it did!
__________________
~Mike & Kim~
2014 Rockwood Windjammer 3008W Diamond Package
2012 Toyota Tundra Doublecab 5.7 4WD
M&K Hoffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 07:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 76
We also have a 2014 FR Flagstaff 5th wheel 8528IKWS and it does exactly the same thng. There is a separate breaker labelled "Microwave" but none labelled "Fireplace" so with only 30 amp hook-up they can only use so much AC at any given time and the explanation about the relay to defeat the fireplace upon using the microwave makes sense. At least it is self resetting!
jz5w63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 07:06 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10,761
Send a message via AIM to B and B
This is designed to work this way. If you add the water heater 11 and microwave 12 to 15 that 80% load factor. I prefer the fireplace shutting off than having to reset my pole breaker outside in the rain.
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 07:13 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
JonClark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 174
Well they are looking into it because we checked out 3 other identical units and the fireplace stayed on when we turned on the microwave.
JonClark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 07:23 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10,761
Send a message via AIM to B and B
Might be a different fireplace or mod on the assembly line. A quick call to Forest River would confirm.
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 07:25 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
JonClark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 174
Yeah might need to do that. It's at the dealer now for warranty work which is awesome with all the snow we have.
JonClark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 07:28 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10,761
Send a message via AIM to B and B
I hear you. We have year round campsites here but it is -22/-38 C with windchill right now so just too cold for camping.
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 07:29 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
JonClark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 174
Yeah and I'm second guessing my saying yes to working tonight with windchill going to 31 below. Yikes
JonClark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 07:35 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Charles Firth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Newport News Va
Posts: 661
My Windjammer has a toggle switch next to the front door, that allows you to choose between the fireplace or microwave. I have 30 amp service. Its a bit of a pain but workable.

Chuck in Va
3068w Windjammer
2012 F250 psd
Charles Firth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.