Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-30-2015, 12:26 PM   #1

Garage wiring for my 30A plug

I'm looking to have electricity ran to my detached garage, for some 120v (no 220 needed) outlets, lighting and a plugin for my 30A TT. I'd like some opinions on what kind of service to install. Is a 100A service enough? I'm not an electrician (by ANY means) but any details you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help. I can always count on you all...
10K WD Equal-i-zer Hitch
2015 Coachmen Catalina 273BH
LANShark42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 12:36 PM   #2
Site Team

First question, how are you going to feed electrical to the detached garage? Is it going to come from your house panel itself, or are you running a separate service to it from the pole, etc.?

A 72 hour hold in a psych unit is beginning to intrigue me as a potential vacation opportunity.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 12:39 PM   #3

I assumed it would be fed from the existing house panel. Pros/Cons?
10K WD Equal-i-zer Hitch
Old 04-30-2015, 01:05 PM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by LANShark42 View Post
I assumed it would be fed from the existing house panel. Pros/Cons?
What is your house panel currently (100 amp, 200 amp)? I assume you are going to install a circuit breaker in your house panel and run the wire from it over to your detached garage.

It works similar to an RV. You only have so many amps . If you have a 100 amp service to your house and run a 100 amp service off of it to your detached garage....you are in essence just sharing the same 100 amp service, but now between two buildings. If you used say 50 amps worth of stuff in your detached garage...then since it's being fed by your house, then you are now limited to 50 amps in your house.