Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-05-2022, 08:45 AM   #1

Generator Charging Question

Currently dry camping and have monitored charging through a Victron BMV-712 battery monitor. I have an Onan 5500 watt generator.

Noticed upon startup that monitor shows about 13.20 amps going in and then amps slowly decrease over time. After an hour and a half amp input is at 7.13 amps.

My confusion is that the generator is rated to put out 46 amps. So I have two questions.

1. Is the total number of amps going into the battery 13.20 down to 7.13 normal?

2. Where are the other 30 or so amps being put out by the generator going?

I'm a newbie at this and appreciate any advice.
Old 08-05-2022, 08:57 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by kayakist View Post
Currently dry camping and have monitored charging through a Victron BMV-712 battery monitor. I have an Onan 5500 watt generator.

Noticed upon startup that monitor shows about 13.20 amps going in and then amps slowly decrease over time. After an hour and a half amp input is at 7.13 amps.

My confusion is that the generator is rated to put out 46 amps. So I have two questions.

1. Is the total number of amps going into the battery 13.20 down to 7.13 normal?

2. Where are the other 30 or so amps being put out by the generator going?

I'm a newbie at this and appreciate any advice.
Generator output rating is for 120V AC power. That then gets inputted to the RV and feeds the power converter. The power converter is what charges the battery. You need to look at the charge rating of the power converter to determine the max charge rate. Also if it is set up for charging lead acid batteries the charge rate will reduce as voltage goes up.
Old 08-05-2022, 09:04 AM   #3

Now that makes perfect sense. I've learned something new today. Thank you for the quick and accurate information.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phreak480 View Post