Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2014, 06:32 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Generator size to run an A/C unit

Does anyone have any ideas for generator size needed to run an air conditioner, would a 2000 watt Yamaha be large enough?
sdoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 06:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Todouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 849
Most likely not. Have heard of some guys putting a hard start kit on compressor and getting it start with the Yamaha 2400. The running watts is not so much the prob as is the starting amp draw on the genny.
Todouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 06:42 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
LKicklight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CHATSWORTH, GA.
Posts: 1,121
Hyndai 2000si

You tube user claims this unit will. have not tried ours as yet, loks as if we may not need it where we are headed come friday, snowing still and 30 degrees, hope the furnance works well at this pont in time. Will have to let you know about the ac when we get there.
kickstrer
__________________
2500HD 6.0 Gas/Ext. Cab
2011 Crusader 270RET
2003 Sunnybrook T/T 30FIS
2012 Jeep Compass Limited
1985 S-10 One Owner:
LKicklight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 06:44 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
acadianbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 3,215
Our 2,000 watt Honda will not run the air conditioner.
__________________
https://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp297/acadianbob/IMG_2757.jpg
2018 F250 Lariat 6.2 4X4 w 4.30s, 2018 Wildcat 29RLX
2012 BMW G650GS, Demco Premiere Slider
1969 John Deere 1020, 1940 Ford 9N, 1948 Ford 8N
Jonsered 535, Can of WD-40, Duct Tape
Red Green coffee mugs
acadianbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 06:48 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
List

TURBS

Sabre owners united!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399333753413.jpg
Views:	219
Size:	48.2 KB
ID:	51761  
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 06:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
SKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,428
It will, but will barely start it. I mean barely to the point that I'd imagine the AC would be burned up before too long. And once running you can tell the little genset has it's tongue hanging out. You can do anything else, microwave, TV, etc. on a 2000, but the AC is a nono.

Look into a 3000 or getting another 2000 and running them in parallel. Then you'll be golden.
__________________
Now-2014 Sierra 346RETS 5er BUB
Then-2002 Keystone Springdale 286RLDS TT

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 06:49 PM   #7
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 25,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoner View Post
Does anyone have any ideas for generator size needed to run an air conditioner, would a 2000 watt Yamaha be large enough?
generally, a 2000w generator will NOT run a a/c. but you need to post what size a/c you're talking about!
5k btu, 13.5k btu, 15k btu or something else? make a big difference.

or post year, make, model of RV you have.

a 2000w one is good for everything BUT the a/c.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 06:50 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...aws-17300.html

TURBS

Sabre owners united!
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 06:59 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Todouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 849
My old Generac 2000 would not not would my fathers honda 2000. Just too much amp draw on startup. It will try but the voltage drop will kill the ac
Todouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 01:26 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
dj3spots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 547
Ran our two Honda 2000 parallel and still wouldn't run AC. We had a 13000 BTU unit at the time.
dj3spots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 01:31 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
SKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj3spots View Post
Ran our two Honda 2000 parallel and still wouldn't run AC. We had a 13000 BTU unit at the time.
Interesting, sounds like there was an issue with them paralleling up, a total of 4000 watts should have been more than enough, my 4500 will run both my 15K and 13.5K at the same time.
__________________
Now-2014 Sierra 346RETS 5er BUB
Then-2002 Keystone Springdale 286RLDS TT

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 09:26 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
dj3spots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKnight View Post
Interesting, sounds like there was an issue with them paralleling up, a total of 4000 watts should have been more than enough, my 4500 will run both my 15K and 13.5K at the same time.

We couldn't figure it out either. We use the generators when our electric goes out at the house. Run 2 fridges, TV, coffee pot, light and recharge a few things. Had my nephew look at them when he visited, and the electric went out. He uses generators at his job, he said they were connected correctly. So, who knows. All I can say is it didn't work for us. Ran everything else and the Keurig too, but didn't run the AC without shutting down the generators. Still a mystery and now we have a 50amp 5ver with 2 ACs so won't be trying them again.
dj3spots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 09:43 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
SKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj3spots View Post
We couldn't figure it out either. We use the generators when our electric goes out at the house. Run 2 fridges, TV, coffee pot, light and recharge a few things. Had my nephew look at them when he visited, and the electric went out. He uses generators at his job, he said they were connected correctly. So, who knows. All I can say is it didn't work for us. Ran everything else and the Keurig too, but didn't run the AC without shutting down the generators. Still a mystery and now we have a 50amp 5ver with 2 ACs so won't be trying them again.
There's a procedure to synching them up, I don't recall what though but it sounds like you're only running on the power from one. I just looked at the manual, there's nothing clarifying though.

I run my 50A 5er through a twist lock 30A generator adapter and the voltage holds rock steady at 114V even with both on. Startup of the second unit pulls the voltage down to 100V for .2 of a second while the throttle catches it then right back to 114V. I won't try running the microwave or anything else like that, but it holds steady with both units.

I'M rated at 4500W surge, 3500 continuous. You're set for 4000W surge and 3200 continuous, so you should be more than good. I'm not arguing with you, I'm suggesting that something might be wrong with one of your generators or the parallel setup.
__________________
Now-2014 Sierra 346RETS 5er BUB
Then-2002 Keystone Springdale 286RLDS TT

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 09:45 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
dj3spots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKnight View Post
There's a procedure to synching them up, I don't recall what though but it sounds like you're only running on the power from one. I just looked at the manual, there's nothing clarifying though.

I run my 50A 5er through a twist lock 30A generator adapter and the voltage holds rock steady at 114V even with both on. Startup of the second unit pulls the voltage down to 100V for .2 of a second while the throttle catches it then right back to 114V. I won't try running the microwave or anything else like that, but it holds steady with both units.

I'M rated at 4500W surge, 3500 continuous. You're set for 4000W surge and 3200 continuous, so you should be more than good. I'm not arguing with you, I'm suggesting that something might be wrong with one of your generators or the parallel setup.

Yes we thought the same. We keep saying we're gonna take them to a dealer, just haven't yet. Don't mind you explaining. That's not arguing that's being helpful. Thanks.
dj3spots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 10:26 PM   #15
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj3spots View Post
Ran our two Honda 2000 parallel and still wouldn't run AC. We had a 13000 BTU unit at the time.

My two runs my 15K at 6000 ft
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 10:26 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
ironj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,368
At 7000ft my 3500/4000 wouldent start a 13.5 ( no hard start cap)...my champ 2000s paralleled will sometimes start my 15k (with hard start). But not always...my honda 6500 is the only one that will ALWAYS start my 2012 dometic 15k units (with hard start caps)...so no...3500 watts isnt always enough in all situations

sent from fat fingers via a space dish thing with no regard to grammer.
__________________
2015 F350 Platinum Fx4 6.7 Diesel Dually. B&W turnover, B&W Companion, air bags and wireless controller.
2015 Heartland Road Warrior 420 Rt
2012 f250 Fx4 6.7 Diesel crew cab tinted n tuned
2012 lacrosse 318bhs touring- sold
ironj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:31 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Moose509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 158
It takes a Onan 5550 to run our 5er. Had a 3550, but it would not run the AC.
Moose509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 08:55 AM   #18
Member
 
ChibullsAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 332
My 2300w regular old generator runs mine. Ours is a 13.5k 2014 model. Bought the hard start cap but didn't need it.
__________________
2018 Rockwood Signature Ultralight 8329SS
ChibullsAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 09:31 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
SKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,428
For those with 3500+ gensets that won't run their AC, how well does everything run when plugged in at a cg? Reason I ask is 3500 watts is 29 amps at 120V.
__________________
Now-2014 Sierra 346RETS 5er BUB
Then-2002 Keystone Springdale 286RLDS TT

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 10:03 AM   #20
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,995
Our Yamaha 3000SiB (3500 watts for 5 minutes) will only start and run our Coleman Mach 3 15k AC when NOT in ECO mode.

After the mods to the Air Conditioner (hard start and fan delay relay) it will reliably start it in ECO mode. Start up amps (can see them now with the Franks Autotransformer mod) has exceeded 29 amps when the campground voltage gets wonky.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1370.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	52042   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1070.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	64.4 KB
ID:	52043  
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.