Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2017, 10:19 AM   #1
Member
 
MaybzNDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 55
Generator turns on but doesn't juice anything.

We have a 2015 30DS, 30amp, that was plugged into 110 shore power. The AC was on and we went to microwave some food and they both turned off. After some investigation on our end it turned out the circuit breaker to the outlet on the shore side had tripped, so once flipped over everything was fine. Today we were readying to move and start a week of boondocking, so we turned on the generator to power the AC and the generator kicked on but the AC never did. We looked and the microwave was out (no time display) and there is no power running to our outlets (checked phone chargers). We checked the breaker on the generator and regardless of which way it is flipped there is no juice.

Help! Thank you in advance.
MaybzNDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 10:24 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,835
Did you check the 120 volt main breaker inside your rig?
Turn it totally off and then back on.

For the main circuit breaker to trip at the campground means you have a major short some where in your rig.
Do you have a transfer switch for the generator?

I still think you need to check all the breakers 120 volt inside and all your GFI breakers.
Let us know.
Iggy
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 378TS
FB Georgetown RV Club
Iggy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 10:48 AM   #3
llr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 1,065
when I had a class A the brushes in the generator wore out.

has to be Generator, transfer switch or internal breaker/wiring issue.

does everything still work when plugged in?

when it tripped the post breaker what else was on except the microwave? AC, water heater etc.
__________________
TT 2017 Flagstaff 831CLBSS Classic Ultra lite
TV 2017 F150 6.5' bed 3.5 Eco-boost
prior TV 2014 Silverado 2500 HD
llr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 10:54 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 519
Might be a obvious question, but did you plug the shore power cord into the generator outlet? There is no transfer switch in the 30DS, so its either the 30 amp generator breaker, or the 30 amp main breaker in your electrical panel. If you haven't done so, move your AC off the shared 30 amp breaker to a dedicated breaker. You'll find the AC kicking offline when it gets hot out due to the breaker getting warm. Also, if your using the electric water heater, and your running the AC, and your trying to use the microwave, and you trying to charge some batteries, its for sure going to blow the 30 amp breaker.
__________________
Mike
2015 FR3 30DS
KansasFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 10:56 AM   #5
Member
 
MaybzNDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by llr View Post
when I had a class A the brushes in the generator wore out.

has to be Generator, transfer switch or internal breaker/wiring issue.

does everything still work when plugged in?

when it tripped the post breaker what else was on except the microwave? AC, water heater etc.
AC, water heater, and the microwave. That was it.

On shore everything is working flawlessly once they fixed their end.
MaybzNDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 10:59 AM   #6
Member
 
MaybzNDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by KansasFR3 View Post
Might be a obvious question, but did you plug the shore power cord into the generator outlet? There is no transfer switch in the 30DS, so its either the 30 amp generator breaker, or the 30 amp main breaker in your electrical panel. If you haven't done so, move your AC off the shared 30 amp breaker to a dedicated breaker. You'll find the AC kicking offline when it gets hot out due to the breaker getting warm. Also, if your using the electric water heater, and your running the AC, and your trying to use the microwave, and you trying to charge some batteries, its for sure going to blow the 30 amp breaker.
We will look into this once we park. Do you mean the electrical panel under the bed? That's the only one we know of.
MaybzNDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 11:03 AM   #7
Member
 
MaybzNDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
Did you check the 120 volt main breaker inside your rig?
Turn it totally off and then back on.

For the main circuit breaker to trip at the campground means you have a major short some where in your rig.
Do you have a transfer switch for the generator?

I still think you need to check all the breakers 120 volt inside and all your GFI breakers.
Let us know.
Iggy
We didn't check the 120 volt main breaker today, just when it originally blew two days ago. Will check when parked. What does GFI stand for? We are still fairly new to all of this.
MaybzNDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 11:11 AM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaybzNDave View Post
AC, water heater, and the microwave. That was it.

On shore everything is working flawlessly once they fixed their end.
If you add the amps used by those 3 items it comes to 45 amps.

You can NOT use the AC and microwave at the same time with a 30 amp coach; let alone have the water heater on AC power.

Any time the AC compressor, Microwave Magnetron, and the water heater AC element power up at the same time you will blow circuit breakers.

You need power management when trying to live with all the toys they stick into our campers. ALWAYS turn off the AC Water Heater and run propane if the air conditioner will be needed in a 30 amp rig.

I also turn off the AC when using the microwave, hair dryer, or any other high draw electrical appliance (like a fry pan or slow cooker).
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 11:39 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Carl17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 369
Smile GEN set

Onan gen has a 30 amp breaker on the generator by the starter controls on gen.. Cover on gen has to be remove to get to it . If i remember its under right side . Then make sure its plug in to outlet and main breaker in side is not trip. I run my AC and micro wave all the time not had a problem.
__________________
Carl & Bette
2018 Leprechaun
NEW YORK
Carl17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 12:46 PM   #10
Member
 
MaybzNDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 55
Update : Problem solved

Thank you to everyone who replied! We carefully went over everything, soup to nuts, and found the loose connection. Problem solved and we are ready to boondock this week! A lot of useful information and we will definitely be more vigilante in the future.
MaybzNDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 12:46 PM   #11
HDU
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 56
In addition to the other suggestions, I would also make sure your generator is running at mid to 3/4 throttle. I once had a 6500 watt generator that would not send any voltage to the outlets until the generator engine was at half throttle or greater.
HDU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 12:50 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
BobHanke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 499
GFI=Gound Fault Interrupt. As above, you may have to plug your shore line into an outlet from the generator. Also check for on a tripped breaker on the generator itself. Note that a GFI (usually in a bathroom or gally) will be "daisy chained" to other outlets. Seeing the clock on the microwave not functioning is a good clue and is normally on a breaker by itself.
__________________
"Lurch" = Georgetown 2011 330TS
Toad = Jeep 2016 Cherokee
Pilot = Bob
Navigator = Xiangbing
Crew = Radar, NiuNiu & NaNa
BobHanke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 04:00 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,826
Do head what Herk said in post #8. It sounds like you are overloading your system.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 04:18 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Wisconsin/Florida
Posts: 1,578
GFI stands for ground fault interrupter. These are mandatory in basement , kitchen, bathroom and moisture prone areas. They have a trip reset on the outlet device. The RV industry uses them similarly. They will tend to trip quicker than a circuits breaker and will prevent electrocution. So, for instance, if DW drops the hairdryer in a vanity basin of water, it would be instinct to grab for it. But, the circuit will trip before she can react, thus saving her from a frizzies hair do. For all their advantages, they can also be a pain because they sometimes trip for very little reason-to us at least.
PenJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 05:56 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,835
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaybzNDave View Post
Thank you to everyone who replied! We carefully went over everything, soup to nuts, and found the loose connection. Problem solved and we are ready to boondock this week! A lot of useful information and we will definitely be more vigilante in the future.
Where and what was the loose connect?
May help others if we knew what was loose.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 378TS
FB Georgetown RV Club
Iggy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 08:50 AM   #16
Member
 
MaybzNDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
Where and what was the loose connect?
May help others if we knew what was loose.
This is so embarrassing...

The plug was knocked loose from the port in the bay when we were packing up. Haha.

But thank you all for the knowledge that I'm sure will help us in the future. Like how our generator then shut off mid dinner prep and on an old thread we found out if your gas is at a quarter tank it's a killswitch so you're not left stranded.

We laughed a bunch at our own noob-ness yesterday.
MaybzNDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 08:59 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaybzNDave View Post
This is so embarrassing...

The plug was knocked loose from the port in the bay when we were packing up. Haha.

But thank you all for the knowledge that I'm sure will help us in the future. Like how our generator then shut off mid dinner prep and on an old thread we found out if your gas is at a quarter tank it's a killswitch so you're not left stranded.

We laughed a bunch at our own noob-ness yesterday.
When you say "Port in Bay" is this a 30 AMP RV outlet? Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 10:36 AM   #18
Member
 
MaybzNDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
When you say "Port in Bay" is this a 30 AMP RV outlet? Youroo!!
Yeah.
MaybzNDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.