Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-13-2021, 08:55 AM   #1

GFCI problem in brand new camper

Hi Folks! Newbie here. We just bought a 2021 Palomino Solaire 217BH in June of this year. First trip out we had some rain one night and all the GFCI outlets went out. They will not reset at the main GFCI outlet. I replaced the plug twice. Wired it exactly as the old one with LOAD and LINE connections checked with a meter to make sure I was connecting the main power and the downstream wires correctly. I’m pretty confident I’ve wired it properly, but two plugs later I still have no working GFCI outlets. I can haul the camper back to the dealer for service, but it’s an hour-long trip. I’d rather just fix it myself if it’s something pretty simple. Any ideas on what I need to check next? It has to be in GFCI link somewhere, correct? I have yet to remove each GFCI downstream plug, but perhaps I should do that and make sure there’s no loose wires? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
jkelly66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 09:12 AM   #2

Welcome to the forum its a great place to get your questions answered. usually the Mfg uses one GFCI to protect the circuit not multiple. If the GFCI resits and your sure you have power out if it then follow the circuit to the next place and check it. these rigs tend to be daisy chained with regard to wiring. good luck let the forum know what you find.
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 10:33 AM   #3

a gfci needs power to it to reset. i'm sure you wired the line and loads sides correctly, but did you verify that the line side actually has power coming into the gfci? your problem may actually be before the gfci, not after it.
Old 07-13-2021, 10:50 AM   #4
D W

When you say it won't reset do you mean the RESET on the GFCI will not latch?