Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-27-2020, 12:28 PM   #1

GFCI Tripping

2017 Forest River Wildcat Travel Trailer 50 amp with a hard wired Progressive Industries Surge Protector

I’m not an electrician, but my inside GFCI has tripped as described below.

My RV is at set on a permanent site in a private campground in Ohio.

* The original pedestal just had 30 amp service. Before the beginning of the season, the maintenance manager installed a new 50 amp breaker and plug in the pedestal.
* I have asked the maintenance manager to recheck the breaker and plug, twice. He won’t and told me the problem is in the RV.
* Both issues occurred on a Sunday overnight to Monday morning , if that matters.

The main GFCI in my RV is tripped. Surge protection monitor reads no errors.

Here’s the story:

* 1 month ago GFCI tripped. The water heater worked, but it wasn’t heating the water very well.
* Checked fuses
* Checked water heater: connections and fuse
* Redid water heater connections that surge protector was tied into.
* Results = water was running hot again and GFCI was not tripping.
* Rechecked all outlets for proper ground = all were good.
* All appliances and both AC units were running properly.

* 1 week ago GFCI tripped. The water heater works, as it should.
* The frost free freezer was running too cold, but the fan was running as it should. I manually defrosted the freezer, as a precaution.
* Checked fuses
* Checked water heater: connections and fuse
* Redid water heater connections AGAIN that the surge protector was tied into. Just in case, this was the problem.
* Results = water was running hot and GFCI still tripping.
* Checked shoreline cord
* Even plugged the RV into the 30 amp service. Gfci still tripped.
* All appliances and both AC units are working like they should.
* On Saturday, July 25th, I replaced the original GFCI, yet it still is tripped.